Senior kick returner Savon Scarver and eight other Utah State football players will collect at least some recognition this season, even if they never take the field.

Scarver was named a first-team preseason all-Mountain West Conference selection Monday by Phil Steele Magazine. Scarver was just the third USU player to be named a consensus All-American when he claimed that honor in 2018. In 2019, he led the MWC and was second nationally in kickoff returns for touchdown with two. He was also first in the conference and 11th in the nation in kickoff return yards with 613 yards on 22 returns (27.9 ypr).

Joining Scarver, Aggies senior safeties Shaq Bond and Troy Lefeged Jr received second- and third-team nods, respectively. Senior center Demytrick Ali’ifua also made the third team. Fourth-team honors went to senior linebacker Kevin Meitzenheimer and senior defensive end Justus Te’i on defense and senior running back Jaylen Warren, junior wide receiver Deven Thompkins and sophomore offensive lineman Andy Koch on offense.

San Diego State, Boise State and Hawai’i shared most of the top honors. The Warriors had a conference-high three players named first-team offense. The Aztecs placed four on the first team for defense, followed by three from the Broncos.

Phil Steele Magazine 2020 Preseason All-Mountain West Teams

First-Team Offense

QB – Hank Bachmeier, Boise State

RB – Xazavian Valladay, Wyoming

RB – Charles Williams, UNLV

WR – Warren Jackson, Colorado State

WR – Jared Smart, Hawaii

WR – Tre Walker, San Jose State

TE – Trey McBride, Colorado State

C – Keegan Cryder, Wyoming

OL – Teton Saltes, New Mexico

OL – Ilm Manning, Hawaii

OL – Nolan Laufenberg, Air Force

OL – Gene Pryor, Hawaii

First-Team Defense

DL – Keshawn Banks, San Diego State

DL – Dom Peterson, Nevada

DL – Manny Jones, Colorado State

DL – Cameron Thomas, San Diego State

LB – Riley Whimpey, Boise State

LB – Demonte Meeks, Air Force

LB – Justin Rice, Fresno State

LB – Darius Muasau, Hawaii

DB – Tariq Thompson, San Diego State

DB – Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State

DB – Jalen Walker, Boise State

CB – Darren Hall, San Diego State

First-Team Specialists

K – Matt Araiza, San Diego State

P – Ryan Stonehouse, Colorado State

KR – Savon Scarver, Utah State

PR – Avery Williams, Boise State

LS – Turner Bernard, San Diego State

Second-Team Offense

QB – Patrick O’Brien, Colorado State

RB – Ronnie Rivers, Fresno State

RB – George Holani, Boise State

WR – Bailey Ganther, San Jose State

WR – Elijah Cooks, Nevada

WR – Khalil Shakir, Boise State

TE – John Bates, Boise State

C – Taaga Tuulima, Hawaii

OL – John Ojukwu, Boise State

OL – Elijah Johnson, Colorado State

OL – Syrus Tuitele, Fresno State

OL – Jack Snyder, San Jose State

Second-Team Defense

DL – Solomon Byrd, Wyoming

DL – Jordan Jackson, Air Force

DL – Scale Igiehon, Boise State

DL – Kevin Atkins, Fresno State

LB – Arron Mosby, Fresno State

LB – Chad Muma, Wyoming

LB – Brock Miller, Boise State

LB – Dequan Jackson, Colorado State

DB – Cortez Davis, Hawaii

DB – Jay Lenard, San Diego State

DB – Shaq Bond, Utah State

DB – Milton Bugg, Air Force

Second-Team Specialists

K – Brandon Talton, Nevada

P – Tyson Dyer, New Mexico

KR – Melquise Stovall, Hawaii

PR – Dante Wright, Colorado State

LS – Ross Reiter, Colorado State

Third-Team Offense

QB – Chevan Cordeiro, Hawaii

RB – Miles Reed, Hawaii

RB – Kadin Remsberg, Air Force

WR – Nate Craig-Myers, Colorado State

WR – Melquise Stovall, Hawaii

WR – Dante Wright, Colorado State

TE – Marcus Williams, New Mexico

C – Demytrick Ali’ifua, Utah State

OL – Parker Ferguson, Air Force

OL – Nate Brown, Nevada

OL – Julio Garcia, UNLV

OL – Logan Harris, Wyoming

Third-Team Defense

DL – Jonah Laulu, Hawaii

DL – Garrett Crall, Wyoming

DL – Scott Patchan, Colorado State

DL – Demitri Washington, Boise State

LB – Jeremiah Pritchard, Hawaii

LB – Jacobi Hearn, New Mexico

LB – Kyle Harmon, San Jose State

LB – Caden McDonald, San Diego State

DB – Troy Lefeged Jr., Utah State

DB – Logan Stewart, Colorado State

DB – Dwayne Johnson, San Diego State

DB – Tyson Williams, Nevada

Third-Team Specialists

K – Matt Mercurio, San Jose State

P – Tanner Kuljian, San Diego State

KR – Jordan Byrd, San Diego State

PR – Ronnie Rivers, Fresno State

LS – Jacob Westberry, Fresno State

Fourth-Team Offense

QB – Donald Hammond, Air Force

RB – Toa Taua, Nevada

RB – Jaylen Warren, Utah State

WR – Romeo Dobbs, Nevada

WR – Deven Thompkins, Utah State

WR – Randal Grimes, UNLV

TE – Daniel Bellinger, San Diego State

C – Kyle Stapley, New Mexico

OL – Kyle Hoppe, San Jose State

OL – Andy Koch, Utah State

OL – Solo Vaipulu, Hawaii

OL – William Dunkle, San Diego State

Fourth-Team Defense

DL – Kwami Jones, Fresno State

DL – Cade Hall, San Jose State

DL – Justus Te’i, Utah State

DL – Leonard Payne, Fresno State

LB – Lawson Hall, Nevada

LB – Farrell Hester, UNLV

LB – Kevin Meitzenheimer, Utah State

LB – Penei Pavihi, Hawaii

DB – Michael LoVett, New Mexico

DB – Khoury Bethley, Hawaii

DB – Rome Weber, Wyoming

DB – Avery Williams, Boise State

Fourth-Team Specialists

K – Daniel Gutierrez, UNLV

P – Stan Gaudion, Hawaii

KR – Tyleek Collins, UNLV

PR – Romeo Dobbs, Nevada

LS – Conner Kirkegaard, Air Force