Fireworks shows continue to fizzle this summer as officials work to prevent large gatherings that could spread the coronavirus.

Salt Lake City Mayor Erin Mendenhall announced that popular shows at Jordan Park on July 4 and Liberty Park on July 24 have been snuffed.

“While we know it’s disappointing, we encourage residents to enjoy the holiday in small groups and follow the guidance of the Salt Lake City Fire Department regarding discharging personal fireworks,” said Lorna Vogt, director of the Department of Public Services, in a news release.

The decision joins a growing list of other Independence Day and Pioneer Day cancellations, from the Western Stampede in West Jordan on July 4 and to the weeklong Pioneer Days Rodeo in Ogden. Last week, organizers of Provo’s Stadium of Fire fireworks show said it was canceling the event and replacing it with three synchronized displays that spectators will be able to see from home.

Taylorsville is moving ahead with its Taylorsville Dayzz fireworks display on Saturday but it will close Gary C. Swensen Valley Regional Park to the public and has asked residents to watch it from the safety of their own yards or homes.

Salt Lake City residents and others can still host their own private fireworks shows. Capital city officials encourage limiting those gatherings to 20 people and urge attendees to wear masks and practice social distancing.

In lieu of a public fireworks show, the city is calling on residents and business to decorate their properties in patriotic colors. A city events team will evaluate the displays from 1 p.m. and 4 p.m. on Independence Day and issue prizes for the best overall décor; best use of red, white and blue; most creative décor; and most patriotic neighborhood. Participants can register for the “Red, White and You” contest by filling out a Google form.

City officials also remind residents of the season’s firework restrictions. Fireworks can be discharged from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. from July 2 to July 5 and from July 22 to July 25. Those hours are extended until midnight on the Independence Day and Pioneer Day holidays.

Fireworks are prohibited in all areas east of 900 East, including the University of Utah campus, as well as all areas north of South Temple, all areas west of Redwood Road and in the area of Wall Street through Beck Street. Fireworks are also not allowed in City Creek Canyon, in city parks or in wildland-urban interface areas.

A detailed map of firework restricted areas in Salt Lake County is available online.