It’s primary election day. Here’s what you need to know.

(Rick Egan | The Salt Lake Tribune) Early voter casts his ballots at the Salt Lake County Government Center, Monday, Aug. 12, 2019.

Nearly 20% of residents across Salt Lake County have already cast their ballots in this year’s primary election, which includes a handful of hot mayoral contests.

But it’s not too late for voters who haven’t mailed in their ballots to weigh in on which candidates they want to see move forward to November’s general election — and “every vote” in these races will count “with this small of turnout,” said Salt Lake County Clerk Sherrie Swensen.

She and other county clerks across the Wasatch Front have raised concerns about low voter turnout so far, which is expected in an offseason election to be between 25% and 30% overall.

There are 22 voting centers throughout Salt Lake County, which are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday. Voters can go to any one of them to drop off their ballots or cast their votes. Same-day voter registration is available at each location to those with photo ID (also required to vote in person) and proof of residency.

Voters can also skip the lines and turn in their completed ballots at any one of 20 drop box locations throughout the county before 8 p.m. on Tuesday.

The race to lead Salt Lake City is one of the more crowded and most watched across the county in this election season, with eight candidates facing off in an expensive race to replace Mayor Jackie Biskupski, who is not running for reelection. Contenders in that election include former state Sen. Jim Dabakis, current Sen. Luz Escamilla, Salt Lake City Councilwoman Erin Mendenhall and former Councilman Stan Penfold.

Businessman David Ibarra and former Southern Utah Wilderness Association attorney David Garbett are also running, along with retired electrical engineer Rainer Huck and freelance journalist Richard Goldberger.

Voter turnout in Salt Lake City was slightly higher than the overall average as of Monday afternoon, at 25.86% in Salt Lake City with about 24,584 ballots returned. Swensen said she expected that race to have between 40% and 50% turnout overall.

West Jordan and Brighton also have mayoral primaries this year.

Alta and South Jordan, along with Millcreek, are the only cities in the county that will not require primary elections. Voters who didn’t receive a ballot can check whether they have a primary at vote.utah.gov or by emailing got-vote@slco.org.


Bingham Creek Library: 4834 W. 9000 South in West Jordan

Bluffdale City Hall: 2222 W. 14400 South in Bluffdale

Columbus Community Center: 2531 S. 400 East in South Salt Lake

Cottonwood Heights City Hall: 2277 E. Bengal Blvd. (7600 South) in Cottonwood Heights

Draper City Hall: 1020 E. Pioneer Road (12400 South) in Draper

Federal Heights LDS Church: 1300 E. Fairfax Road (335 North) in Salt Lake City

First Congregational Church: 2150 S. Foothill Drive (2755 East) in Salt Lake City

Herriman City Hall: 5355 W. Herriman Main St. (13100 South) in Herriman

Holladay City Hall: 4580 S. 2300 East in Holladay

Kearns (Eddie Mayne) Senior Center: 4851 W. 4715 South in Kearns

Marmalade Library: 280 W. 500 North in Salt Lake City

Midvale City Hall: 7505 S. Holden St. (720 West) in Midvale

Murray City Hall: 5025 S. State St. in Murray

River’s Bend Northwest Senior Center: 1300 W. 300 North in Salt Lake City

Riverton Senior Center: 12914 S. Redwood Road (1700 West) in Riverton

Sandy Senior Center: 9310 S. 1300 East in Sandy

Salt Lake County Government Center: 2001 S. State St. in Salt Lake City

Sorenson Multicultural Center: 855 W. California Ave. (1305 South) in Salt Lake City

Taylorsville City Hall: 2600 W. Taylorsville Blvd. in Taylorsville

Trolley Square: 600 S. 700 East #D117 in Salt Lake City

West Jordan Library (Viridian): 8030 S. 1825 West in West Jordan

West Valley City Hall: 3600 S. Constitution Blvd. (2700 West) in West Valley City