Former business leader, who just returned from a Latter-day Saint mission, nominated to Utah liquor board

Al Hartmann | The Salt Lake Tribune Stan Parrish, former President and CEO -Sandy Chamber of Commerce, has been nominated for a post on the Utah state liquor commission.

A former Utah business leader — who recently returned from a mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints — has been nominated to the state liquor commission, the governor’s office has announced.

Stanley B. Parrish was selected by Gov. Gary Herbert to replace Neal Berube, another nondrinker, on the seven-member board that oversees liquor sales and licensing for the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.

Parrish will serve the remaining four months of Berube’s term, which expires July 1.

Berube, the CEO of the Associated Foods, abruptly resigned from the DABC commission in December. Berube said his position as the leader of one of Utah’s largest grocery chains was in conflict with a new state law that requires grocery and convenience stores to obtain “off-premise” licenses from the DABC to sell beer.

Herbert announced Parrish’s nomination, along with several other state board appointments, in a letter to Utah Senate President Stuart Adams, R-Layton. Before he can begin work, Parrish first must be confirmed by the legislative body.

During his long business career, Parrish has been the owner of an auto parts distribution system and the president of a software company, according to his resume.

He also has served in numerous leadership positions, most notably as president and CEO of the Sandy Area Chamber of Commerce from 2011 to 2016 and president of the Salt Lake Area Chamber of Commerce from 1996 to 1998.

He served for a time as executive director of the Utah Department of Community and Economic Development and was an administrator with he U.S. Small Business Administration.

Parrish recently returned from London, where he served as a public affairs missionary for the LDS Church, which teaches its members to abstain from alcohol.

Here are the other six members on the state liquor board. Each is appointed by the governor and serves a four-year term.

Chairman John T. Nielsen • Nondrinker, appointed 2013, reappointed March 2017. A former Salt Lake County prosecutor who directed the Public Safety Department from 1985 to 1989.

Steven B. Bateman • Nondrinker, appointed 2015 (partial term), reappointed 2017. Former chief executive officer of St. Mark’s Hospital.

Sophia M. DiCaro • An occasional drinker, appointed in 2017. Chief compliance officer for The Cynosure Group, an investment advisory firm in Salt Lake City and a former Republican state representative for West Valley City’s House District 31.

Thomas Jacobson • Nondrinker, appointed 2017. Park City attorney.

Amanda Smith • Social drinker, appointed 2015. Environmental and natural resources attorney and former head of the Utah Department of Environmental Quality.

Jacquelyn Orton • currently does not drink but has in the past. Appointed in 2018. Community advocate and widow of former U.S. Rep. Bill Orton.