McAdams is the first one-term member of Congress from Utah in more than two decades

(Francisco Kjolseth | Tribune file photo) in this Election night file photo, Democratic Rep. Ben McAdams waves hello as he hands out pre-ordered meals to friends and supporters at Pat’s BBQ in Salt Lake City. If Republican challenger Burgess Owens' lead holds up, McAdams will be the first one-term Congress member in Utah since Enid Greene.

After he conceded to Republican Burgess Owens on Monday afternoon, Rep. Ben McAdams becomes the first one-term member of Congress from Utah since Republican Rep. Enid Greene, who was in the House from 1995-1997.

Greene knocked off Democratic Rep. Karen Shepherd, another one-term member of Congress, in 1994.

Owens will also become the fourth person to represent Utah’s 4th District in Congress since the seat was created in 2012. While that level of turnover is unusual in Utah, it’s really not uncommon nationally, especially in the past decade.

According to Smart Politics, Utah’s 4th District is one of 12 seats that changed hands at least four times since 2012, and one of those could change over a fifth time depending on the final results of this year’s election.

California’s 26th District has seen four changes and possibly will see a fifth this year, with Democrat Christy Smith within striking distance (100 votes) of Republican Rep. Mike Garcia.

Two Florida U.S. House seats have seen a similar revolving door of four members: the 19th, just won by Congressman-elect Byron Donalds and the 26th, just won by Miami-Dade County Mayor Carlos Gimenez.

New York also has seen two House seats that have changed hands at that pace, including the 11th, where Republican Nicole Malliotakis just knocked off incumbent Democratic Rep. Max Rose and the 22nd, where Republican Claudia Tenney has taken the seat from Rep. Anthony Brindisi.

Additionally, Hawaii, Iowa, Louisiana, Montana, New Hampshire, Nevada and Virigina have seen four occupants of a House seat in eight years.

Utah’s musical chairs in the 4th District will also mean it has flipped partisan control four times: Starting with Democrat Jim Matheson, then Mia Love, followed by McAdams and finally, Owens.