Utah’s trigger law should stay on hold, Planned Parenthood Association of Utah told a state judge Wednesday, until the organization’s lawsuit challenging the statute is resolved.
Its new brief is available below.
The trigger law — passed by the Utah Legislature in 2020 as SB174 — bans abortions in Utah, except in a few limited circumstances. It briefly went into effect after the U.S. Supreme Court overruled Roe vs. Wade on Friday.
But enforcement of the law has been blocked since Monday, when 3rd District Judge Andrew Stone granted a previous temporary request from Planned Parenthood to stop the law from going into effect for the next two weeks. When that happened, another law banning abortions in the state after 18 weeks of pregnancy went into place.
Planned Parenthood Association of Utah argues in its lawsuit that the trigger law violates Utah’s Constitution. The organization is now asking for a preliminary injunction in the case.
The state will file its response in the coming days. Another hearing is scheduled in the case on July 11.
Timeline of Utah’s abortion laws
March 2019: Utah Legislature passes HB136, banning abortions after 18 weeks of pregnancy.
April 2019: Planned Parenthood Association of Utah sues, challenging the constitutionality of the 18-week ban. A federal judge issues an injunction that keeps the law from being enforced while that case is pending.
March 2020: Utah Legislature passes SB174, creating a trigger law that would ban most abortions in the Beehive State if the U.S. Supreme Court ever overturned Roe v. Wade.
Morning of June 24, 2022: U.S. Supreme Court overturns Roe v. Wade.
Evening of June 24, 2022: Utah’s trigger law (SB174) goes into effect.
June 25, 2022: Planned Parenthood Association of Utah sues, arguing trigger law violates rights in Utah Constitution.
June 27, 2022: An emergency court hearing is held. A state judge grants a temporary restraining order, blocking the trigger law from being enforced for two weeks. Meanwhile, the federal lawsuit over the 18-week ban is dismissed.
June 28, 2022: Utah’s 18-week ban goes into effect, while trigger law is on hold.