The First Amendment Society

The First Amendment Society is made up of dedicated, generous individuals who believe that the free press is vital to the health of our community, our state and our democracy. In 2021, The Tribune will enter its 150th year. To celebrate, and to secure our future, we are seeking 150 founding Society members by our anniversary celebrations in the spring of 2021. First Amendment Society members pledge to donate at least $1,000 each year for a minimum of three years.
Interested in joining? Donate here or contact The Tribune’s Director of Supporter Relations Liz Morales, lmorales@sltrib.com.

Lifeline ($10,000/year donors)

Frank-Ratchye Family Fund
John and Anne Milliken
Kanter Family Foundation

Deadline ($5,000/year donors)

Bruce and Diana Bugbee
George and Mary Hall
Greg Skordas and Rebecca Hyde Skordas
H.O. Whiteside Fund
Linda Leckman Donor Fund
Randy Dryer
Rich Peterson

Headline ($2,500/year donors)

Angie Welling
Ashish Patel
Jonathan Ruga
Nancy and George Melling
Ronna Cohen and Stan Rosenzweig

Byline ($1,000/year donors)

Allan and Tracy Merrill
Andrew and Claire Bjelland
Bruce and Diana Juhlin
Carl and Vanessa Laurella
Cook-Scholnick Fund
Dave and Sheri Wittwer
David Bennett
Dick and Susan Rosetta
Elaine Klein and Craig Wallentine
Gary G. Sackett and Toni Marie Sutliff
Gerald R. and Virginia S. Rothstein
Holly Mullen
James E. Shelledy
James Roberts
Jean M. Lown and W. Bryan Dixon
Jones Waldo Holbrook and McDonough PC
Kristen Carroll, MD
Louise Knauer
Mary Corporon
Michael H. Bourne
Nancy Melich and Lex Hemphill
Patrick A. Shea
Peter and Kathleen Metcalf Donor-Advised Fund
Ray and Howard Grossman Charitable Fund
Robert and Linda Keiter
Salzburg Family
Tim and Amy Haran Charitable Fund
Vaughan R. Bennion

2020 Major Donors and grants

The Salt Lake Tribune is committed to transparency. Gifts of $5,000 and up to The Salt Lake Tribune may not be anonymous.

$25,000 and up

Facebook Local News Accelerator Project
James S. and John L. Knight Foundation (2-year grant 2019-2020)
Solutions Journalism Network
The Swartz Foundation
Walton Foundation
Wheeler Foundation

$5,000 - $24,999

Adobe Employee Community Fund
B.W. Bastian Foundation
Barbara Watkins
Chris Peel
Community Foundation of Utah
Dell Loy Hansen Private Foundation
Facebook/Lenfest Institute for Journalism grants
Google COVID Relief Fund
Jaquelyn & Gregory Zehner Foundation
John and Marcia Price
Josh Kanter
JP Morgan Private Bank
Lawrence T. and Janet T. Dee Foundation
Luzmaria Cardenas
Paris Hilton
Stewart Family Foundation
The Cumming Foundation
The Lund Foundation
University of Oregon - Agora Center
Willard L. Eccles Charitable Foundation

$1,000 - $4,999

Ada Wilson
Alan L. and Gayle M. Sullivan
Alice Philippi
Anonymous (11)
Ben Damstedt
Bill Child
Brent and Anne Wilson
Brian King
Bruce Bastian
Bryce Peterson
C. Kim and Jane C. Blair
Cathleen Zick
Charles D. and Mary C. Wintzer
Christian Kimball
Claudia Harris
Con Psarras
David Leta
David Parkinson
David Winder
Debbie L. and Matthew Sigman
Dixie G. and Robert Boyle
Dixie Huefner
Don Garner
Donald W. Alderman Charitable Fund
Ed Sweeney
Emanuella Terre Kenny
Ezra Thomas Jones and Debra Hummel
Fraser Nelson
Gabriel Ascending
George Macomber Family Charitable Gift Fund- GCM
Henry Hemingway
James Robinson
Jane Marquardt
Jay Stone
Jeffrey Hunt
Jerry Borrowman
Joanne Mcgillis and Mary Anne O’Connell
John Anderson- Exelon Foundation
John Chachas
John Francis
John Miller
Judd Werner
Karen Everton
Katherine R. McNamara
Ken Earle
Ken Smith
Kingfisher Fund
Kip Paul
Kody Wallace
Lee Austin
Lesser Family Charitable Fund
Lockwood Family Charitable Fund
Mark Rothacher
Nathan Hult
Nicole Handy
Nikki Bilodeau
Pamela Dropek
Peter Harvey and Barbara Cox
Quintin Foster
Richard Butler
Robert Lyon
Robert Steiner
Sandra Hasstedt
Schmidt Family Fund
Scott and Claire Glade
Sederberg Charitable Account
Steve Denkers
Sue Fisher
The Crandall Family Charitable Fund
The David and Sherry Kirchheimer Family Charitable Fund
The Keller Family Gift Fund
The MRT and OMT Charitable Fund
The Norman and Carol Foster Giving Fund
The Ritchie Family Charitable Fund
The Susan and Ross Collier Solidarity Fund
Tim Shea and Peregrine Schwartz-Shea
Tom Love
Trudy Simmons
University of Southern California Data Fellowship