Here are the people who will pick the winners at the 2023 Sundance Film Festival

The festival will have 21 filmmakers, actors and science experts pick the winners in seven competitions.

(Sundance Institute) Oscar-winning actor Marlee Matlin will be one of the three people serving on the U.S. Dramatic competition jury for the 2023 Sundance Film Festival.

The juries for the 2023 Sundance Film Festival have been announced, and they’re a diverse group of filmmakers, performers and other notable figures.

The Sundance Institute on Wednesday announced the 21 people who will serve on seven competition juries for this year’s festival, which runs Jan. 19-29 in Park City, Salt Lake City and the Sundance Mountain Resort.

Single-screening tickets, both in-person and online, go on sale Thursday.

Here are the jury members:

U.S. Dramatic competition • Playwright Jeremy O. Harris, creator of the Tony-nominated “Slave Play”; director Eliza Hittman (“Never Rarely Sometimes Always”); and actor Marlee Matlin (“Children of a Lesser God,” “CODA”).

U.S. Documentary competition • Comedian and commentator W. Kamau Bell, who directed the docs-series “We Need to Talk About Cosby”; documentarian Ramona S. Diaz (“A Thousand Cuts,” “Motherland,” “Imelda”); and film editor Carla Gutiérrez (“RBG,” “La Corona”).

World Cinema Dramatic competition • Producer Shozo Ichiyama (“Flowers of Shanghai,” “A Touch of Sin”); writer-director-producer Annemarie Jacir (“Salt of This Sea”); and Funa Maduka, filmmaker and former head of international original films for Netflix.

World Cinema Documentary competition • Director-producer Karim Amer (“The Lincoln Project,” “The Great Hack,” “The Vow”); director Petra Costa (“The Edge of Democracy”); and documentarian Alexander Nanau (“The World According to Ion B.,” “Toto and His Sisters”).

Next juror • Director Madeleine Olnek, who has had four movies screen at Sundance: “Hold Up,” “Countertransference,” “The Foxy Merkins” and “Codependent Lesbian Space Alien Seeks Same.”

Short Film Program competition • Director Destin Daniel Cretton (“Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings,” “Just Mercy”); Marie-Louise Khondji, founder of the streaming platform La Cinéma Club; and filmmaker Deborah Stratman (“Hacked Circuit,” “O’er the Land”).

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize • Dr. Heather Berlin, neuroscientist and clinical psychologist; comedian and actor Jim Gaffigan; Dr. Mandë Holford, marine chemical biologist; documentarian Shalini Kantayya (“Coded Bias,” “TikTok, Boom”); and writer-director Lydia Dean Pilcher (“Radium Girls,” “A Call to Spy”). (The Sloan jury has already done its work, awarding the prize — given to a movie that depicts science or scientists — to director Sophia Barthes’ “The Pod Generation,” starring Emilia Clarke and Chiwetel Ejiofor.)