Ethan Hawke and Isabella Rossellini among the jurors for 2020 Sundance Film Festival

(Jordan Strauss | courtesy of Invision/AP) Ethan Hawke, shown here in 2018, will be one of the jurors in the U.S. Dramatic competition for the 2020 Sundance Film Festival.

Movie stars Ethan Hawke and Isabella Rossellini, as well as filmmakers, visual artists and a few scientists, will be serving on the juries of the 2020 Sundance Film Festival.

The slates for this year’s seven juries were announced Tuesday by Robert Redford’s Sundance Institute, which runs the festival.

The juries will decide award winners in the U.S. and World Cinema competitions for both dramatic films and documentaries, and for short films. A one-person jury selects the Next Innovator Award; past Next jurors have been fashion icon RuPaul and avant-garde musician Laurie Anderson.

One jury has already done its job for this year’s festival. The jury that selects the Alfred P. Sloan Prize, which goes to a film that covers themes of science and technology, is going to “Tesla,” director Michael Almereyda’s biography of the inventor Nikolai Tesla, portrayed by Hawke.

Most of the juries’ awards will be given out Saturday, Feb. 1, at the festival’s closing night ceremony. Here are the slates of this year’s Sundance juries:

U.S. Dramatic

Rodrigo Garcia, the director of “Nine Lives,” “Albert Nobbs” and this year’s Sundance entry “Four Good Days,” starring Glenn Close and Mila Kunis.

Ethan Hawke, an actor known for roles in “Training Day,” the “Before Sunrise” trilogy (some of which he co-wrote), “First Reformed” and “Boyhood.” He directed the drama “Blaze” (SFF ’18).

Dee Rees, director and screenwriter of such films as “Mudbound,” “Pariah” and this year’s festival title “The Last Thing He Wanted,” starring Anne Hathaway.

Isabella Rossellini, an actor who starred in “Blue Velvet,” “Death Becomes Her” and “Joy.” She also created a series of short films that explain animal behavior in humorous and scientifically accurate ways.

Wash Westmoreland, who directed (with his late partner, Richard Glatzer) the Sundance Grand Jury Prize and Audience Award winner “Quinceañera” (2006) and 2014’s “Still Alice,” which earned an Oscar for Julianne Moore. Westmoreland also directed Keira Knightley in “Colette” (SFF ’18).

U.S. Documentary

Kimberly Reed, director of the documentary “Dark Money” (SFF ’18).

Rachel Rosen, director of programming for SFFILM, which runs the San Francisco International Film Festival.

Courtney Sexton, senior vice president for CNN Films.

Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi, co-director of “Meru” and the Academy Award-winning “Free Solo.”

Noland Walker, vice president of content at ITVS, which programs for public broadcasting series “Independent Lens” and “POV,” among others.

World Cinema Dramatic

Haifaa Al Mansour, considered the first female Saudi Arabian filmmaker, director of “Wadjda” and “The Perfect Candidate” (which is screening in the festival’s Spotlight section).

Wagner Moura, the Brazilian actor who earned international acclaim for “Elite Squad” (2007); he starred as Pablo Escobar on Netflix’ series “Narcos.”

Alba Rohrwacher, Italian-born actress who has appeared in “I Am Love,” “Happy as Lazzaro” and other films.

World Cinema Documentary

Eric Hynes, film critic, and curator of film at the Museum of the Moving Image in New York.

Rima Mismar, executive director of the Arab Fund for Arts and Culture, a grant-making organization that supports artists in the Arab region.

Nanfu Wang, the Chinese director who explored China’s one-child policy through her family’s story in last year’s U.S. Documentary Grand Jury Prize winner, “One Child Nation.”


Gregg Araki, maverick director known for the films “Totally F***ed Up,” “Mysterious Skin,” “Smiley Face” and others, and the Starz series “Now Apocalypse.”

Short Film

Sian Clifford, English actor, known for playing Claire, the sister of Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s title character on “Fleabag.”

Marcus Hu, co-founder and co-president of the indie film distributor Strand Releasing.

Cindy Sherman, artist known for her photographic self-portraits.

Alfred P. Sloan Prize

Ruth Angus, astrophysicist, assistant curator at the American Museum of Natural History.

Emily Mortimer, British actor who co-starred in “Mary Poppins Returns,” “Lars and the Real Girl” and other films. She stars in “Relic,” appearing in the Midnight section of this year’s festival.

Jessica Oreck, a filmmaker who focuses on ethnobiology, with such films as “Beetle Queen Conquers Tokyo” (2009) and “One Man Dies a Million Times” (2019).

Ainissa Ramirez, a materials scientist and science communicator who works to get the general public excited about science.

Michael Tyburski, writer-director of “The Sound of Silence,” which premiered at last year’s festival.