Utah’s Huntsman family has released the full list of winners for this year’s Huntsman Awards for Excellence in Education.

Each year, 11 educators — seven teachers, three administrators and one school volunteer — are selected for the honor, which includes recognition at an awards banquet and a check for $10,000.

Traditionally, winners were given strict instructions by Jon Huntsman Sr. — who died in February — to use their prize money to treat themselves and not as an investment in their classroom or school.

“It was one of my husband’s very favorite things that we do every year,” Karen Huntsman said Monday during a visit to Salt Lake City’s Franklin Elementary. “He will be missed at the dinner this year.”

The banquet will be held Friday, May 11, at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City. It is the 26th year of the awards.

The 2018 winners are:

• Debbie Koji, principal, South Kearns Elementary.

• Amy Barton, teacher, Coral Canyon Elementary.

• Suzette Prevo-Wilson, teacher, John C. Fremont Elementary.

• Mark Whitaker, principal, Mountain Ridge Junior High.

• Teena Ivers, teacher, South Cache Middle School.

• Stephanie Hunt, teacher, Clayton Middle School.

• Todd Quarnberg, principal, Copper Hills High School.

• Steven Hendricks, teacher, Davis High School.

• Michelle Richardson, teacher, Union High School.

• Crongy Breedlove, volunteer, Sunset Elementary.

• Jason Adam Tackett, special education teacher, Franklin Elementary.

Editor’s note: Paul Huntsman, a son of Karen Huntsman and the late Jon Huntsman Sr., is the owner and publisher of The Salt Lake Tribune.