Congressional redistricting committee named

Published November 17, 2006 12:28 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2006, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Posted: 12:25 PM- State lawmakers from Corinne to St. George have been appointed to draw a map for Utah's prospective fourth seat in Congress.

Of the 11-member committee, five are from Salt Lake County, which likely will form the base of any new congressional district. Congress is considering creating a new district in Utah to balance a proposed voting seat in the House to the District of Columbia.

Utah House Republican Chief of Staff Chris Bleak defended the decision to broaden the committee's membership, including assigning two St. George residents, House Majority Leader Dave Clark and former Majority Whip Rep. Steve Urquhart.

"It balances out pretty well," said Bleak.

Besides Urquhart and Clark, Republicans on the committee include: Senate Majority Leader Curt Bramble, West Jordan Sen. Chris Buttars, Highland Rep. John Dougall, Corinne Rep. Ben Ferry, Draper Rep. Greg Hughes and Syracuse Sen. Sheldon Killpack. Democrats on the committee include Salt Lake City Rep. Jackie Biskupski, Salt Lake City Sen. Gene Davis and Salt Lake City Rep. David Litvack. Taylorsville Sen. Michael Waddoups, who co-chaired a 2001 redistricting committee, will be a nonvoting member.

The committee's first meeting is scheduled for Monday.

- Rebecca Walsh

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus