Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
In this Friday, Aug. 1, 2014 photo, Navajo Nation President Ben Shelly, left, talks with presidential candidate Kenneth Maryboy, as they wait to speak at the Navajo Nation presidential candidate debate sponsored by the Native American Business Organization in Tempe, Ariz. There are 17 candidates in the Tuesday, Aug. 26, 2014 primary election for Navajo Nation president, where voters will determine which candidates continue to the Nov. 4, 2014 general election. (AP Photo/Ross D. Franklin)
Navajo presidential race has crowded field
Election » Sitting president is among 17 candidates in Tuesday’s primary.
First Published Aug 23 2014 07:40 pm • Last Updated Aug 23 2014 07:40 pm

Flagstaff, Ariz. » Seventeen candidates are running for president of the Navajo Nation, a post that wields important influence on the country’s largest American Indian reservation.

The top two vote-getters in Tuesday’s primary will advance to November’s general election. More than 114,000 Navajos are registered to vote.

At a glance

Navajo Nation presidential primary

A crowded field of 17 presidential candidates in Tuesday’s primary election will be whittled down to two for the November general election on the Navajo Nation. Polls will be open from 6 a.m to 7 p.m. MDT on Tuesday.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

The race features a mix of seasoned politicians, political newcomers and the sitting president. Their platforms include securing water rights, enticing business to an area with a more than 50 percent unemployment rate, involving Navajos in decisions on government structure, and promoting tribal culture and tradition.

At the most basic level, Navajos want better roads, and electricity and water at their homes, said tribal Attorney General Harrison Tsosie. About 70 percent of the roads on the reservation are unpaved, an estimated 16,000 families don’t have electricity and many more don’t have telephone service, water or natural gas services, according to the tribal utility provider.

While the president is the tribe’s top elected official, the post generally is seen as less powerful than the Navajo Nation Council. The president earns $55,000 a year and represents the tribe to outside agencies.

Other tribes have looked at the Navajo Nation as a model for incorporating traditional laws into the court system and for securing regulatory authority over air and water from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. A proposed junk-food tax on the Navajo Nation also has gained attention among tribes nationally.

Despite that, the Navajo Nation remains largely unconnected to national American Indian organizations because of its size, influence and uncompromising nature, said former U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs Assistant Secretary Carl Artman.

The Navajo Reservation is larger than any single American Indian land base, covering 27,000 square miles in Arizona, New Mexico and Utah. Almost two-thirds of the 300,000 Navajos live on the reservation that has some of the most iconic landscapes in the Southwest and is rich in natural resources.

"They’re not waiting for the world to give them direction, they’re actually out there cutting their own direction," Artman said.

Whoever becomes president of the Navajo Nation will have the attention of Indian Country, he said.

story continues below
story continues below

Navajo President Ben Shelly, who worked as a heavy equipment operator before being elected as a Tribal Council delegate, county supervisor in New Mexico, vice president of the tribe and then president, is seeking a second term. His challengers include former President Joe Shirley Jr., who worked to reduce the Tribal Council from 88 members to 24 and secure a presidential line-item veto through the tribe’s first successful ballot initiative; tribal lawmakers Kenneth Maryboy and Russell Begaye; former Arizona state Rep. Chris Deschene; tribal elections director Edison Wauneka; and the third-place finisher in the 2010 Navajo presidential primary, Donald Benally.

The others are Carrie Lynn Martin, Myron McLaughlin, Dale Tsosie, Duane "Chili" Yazzie, Dan Smith, former Navajo lawmaker Kee Yazzie Mann, Hank Whitethorne, Edison "Chip" Begay, Moroni Benally and businessman Cal Nez.

Navajos also will narrow down the list of those seeking a seat on the Tribal Council on Tuesday. Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. MDT.

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
Staying Connected
Contests and Promotions
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.