Quantcast
Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
FILE - In this April 12, 2013 file photo, Tiger Woods takes a drop on the 15th hole after his ball went into the water during the second round of the Masters golf tournament in Augusta, Ga. Players as well as the rule officials come from all around the world to the Masters, making the official rulings as discussed as the score. (AP Photo/Charlie Riedel, File)
5 memorable rulings at the Masters
First Published Apr 10 2014 10:36 am • Last Updated Apr 11 2014 04:27 pm

Augusta, Ga. • Players come from all over the world to compete in the Masters, and so do rules officials.

And at times, they have their hands full.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

From incorrect scorecards to free drops to wrong drops, the Rules of Golf can get as much attention as a yardage book.

Arnold Palmer refers to a "little solemn damper" when he looks back on the first of his four Masters victories. He was involved in a ruling on the 12th green that led him to play two chip shots because he felt he was right. And the rules committee eventually sided with him.

Vijay Singh once summoned an official to the 12th green to complain about the size of the spike marks that belonged to Phil Mickelson in 2005, and while the officials deemed Mickelson’s 8-millimeter spikes within the rules, the two champions exchanged words in the Champions Locker Room that day.

Even though Tiger Woods is not at the Masters this year, the sequence of his bad drop, two-shot penalty, incorrect scorecard and Saturday tee time are sure to be discussed.

Here are five notable rulings at the Masters:

5. PILED FOR REMOVAL: Ernie Els was in the mix at the Masters in 2004 when he hooked his tee shot on the 11th hole in the third round deep into the woods. He appeared to have no shot with all the branches and debris around the ball.

He called for a ruling to seek relief, believing the debris from a storm had been piled for removal. Jon Brendle from the PGA Tour denied his request. The best option appeared to be for Els to declare it unplayable and return to the tee for his third shot. Instead, he asked for a second opinion. Will Nicholson, chair of the rules committee, was summoned.

He declared it "piled for removal," and Els was given a free drop. He got out of the woods and reduced the damage to a bogey. Els eventually finished one shot behind when Phil Mickelson made birdie on the last hole.


story continues below
story continues below

4. PRACTICE PUTTING: Dow Finsterwald had finished the eighth hole of the second round in the 1960 Masters when he set his ball on the green for a practice putt. Billy Casper told him practice putting was not allowed.

Uh-oh.

Finsterwald told Casper he had taken practice putts in the first round. An official showed him the back of the scorecard that listed local rules, one of them banning practice putting.

The committee decided to apply a two-shot penalty to his score in the first round, turning a 69 into a 71. Instead of being tied with Arnold Palmer, he was two shots behind. Finsterwald finished third, two shots behind Palmer.

3. TIGER’S DROP: Tiger Woods was poised to take the lead in the second round of the 2013 Masters when his wedge took dead aim for the flag on the par-5 15th. It was too perfect, striking the flagstick and bouncing back into the water, a terrible break. Woods chose to drop behind his previous spot, telling reporters later that he purposely dropped 2 yards farther back to avoid hitting the pin. He salvaged bogey.

A former rules official, David Eger, saw the drop and identified it as wrong. Woods was to drop it as near as possible to the previous spot. He alerted officials at the course, but no one talked to Woods before he signed for a 71.

Once it was reviewed, Woods was assessed the two-shot penalty and had a 73. Augusta National said it was a committee error for not stopping him to talk about the drop before he signed his card. Woods tied for fourth.

2. PALMER’S CHIP: Arnold Palmer hit his tee shot behind the green at the par-3 12th hole in the final round of the 1958 Masters. He felt his ball was imbedded and that he was entitled to free relief. The rules official, Arthur Lacey, declined.

Palmer argued the point and said he would play two balls — the original, and one after taking relief. He made double bogey with imbedded ball, returned to the spot and made par with the second ball. Three holes later, officials approached Palmer and said he was entitled to relief and that the par would count.

He went on to win his first Masters by one shot over Doug Ford and Fred Hawkins.

Even this week, Palmer said there was a "little solemn damper" over the ruling because playing partner Ken Venturi protested the way it was carried out.

Next Page >


Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment


About Reader Comments


Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
Staying Connected
Videos
Jobs
Contests and Promotions
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.