Quantcast
Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Woody Austin penalized 4 strokes for extra club
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Pittsford, N.Y. • Woody Austin has been assessed a four-stroke penalty at the PGA Championship for carrying an extra club.

Golfers are allowed to carry 14 clubs in their bags. Austin discovered the extra club while playing the third hole at Oak Hill on Friday.

He removed it from the bag and reported the infraction to an official.

The rules call for a two-stroke penalty for each hole played with an extra club, up to a maximum of four strokes. Austin added two strokes to his score for the first and second holes.

While rare, Austin isn't the first player to receive such a penalty. Ian Woosnam was in contention at the 2001 British Open when he began the final round with 15 clubs. He took a two-stroke penalty and finished third.

Article Tools

 Print Friendly
 
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.