Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
UVU wrestlers earn academic honors
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Utah Valley wrestlers Chase Cuthbertson, Avery Garner, Monte Schmalhaus and Josh Wilson were named to the All-Academic Team while nine others were named to the Western Wrestling Conference All-Academic Team and Coaches' Honor Roll.

To qualify for the All-Academic team, student-athletes had to secure a minimum 3.20 cumulative grade point average, be a starter or key reserve and be a sophomore or higher in academic standing.

Cuthbertson (3.29), Adam Fager (3.15), Derek Malan (3.05), Sam Mecham (3.73), Josh Metivier (3.35), Bracken Nipko (3.63), Tucker Ray (3.36), Glenn Terrano (3.11) and Derek Thomas (3.23) landed a spot on the Coaches' Honor Roll.

Article Tools

 Print Friendly
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.