Quantcast

NCAA refs getting leeway in calling elbows to head

Published May 9, 2013 3:39 pm

This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The NCAA is giving referees leeway in how they deal with players who inadvertently elbow an opponent above the shoulders.

Pending approval by the Playing Rules Oversight Committee next month, referees who call an elbow to the head will be allowed to use a video monitor to determine the severity of the blow. If deemed inadvertent, the referee could call a player-control foul or nothing.

Previously, a referee was required to call a flagrant-1 or flagrant-2.

A flagrant-1 results in two free throws and possession for the offended team. A flagrant-2 results adds an ejection of the offending player.

Some coaches have been critical of the severity of the rule, implemented in 2011-12 to protect players from head injuries. The changes would be for both men's and women's games.