Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Utah Senate Republicans elect new leader; House retains speaker
Legislature » Wayne Niederhauser is Senate president; Becky Lockhart wins second term in House’s top spot.

< Previous Page

Sandy Sen. Wayne Niederhauser was selected as the next Utah Senate president and House Speaker Becky Lockhart was given a second term in Republican leadership elections Thursday evening.

Lockhart, the state’s first woman House speaker, fended off a challenge from Rep. Mike Noel, R-Kanab, while Niederhauser defeated Senate Majority Leader Scott Jenkins, R-Plain City, for the top Senate post.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

In the Senate, Niederhauser promised to listen to the public and try to be inclusive and transparent in the policymaking.

"It’s not about us, the Senate or the House. It’s about what is good for the people," Niederhauser said. "We have to look outside our bodies. All things can’t be created inside here, and that means that people … need to be involved with their Legislature."

That inclusiveness will not, however, mean a change to the Senate tradition of closing caucuses, which Niederhauser said gives senators a forum to debate issues without reporters, lobbyists and the public watching their every word.

"I actually feel that [closing caucuses] creates some transparency that we wouldn’t have otherwise," Niederhauser said, after he beat Jenkins in the closed-door vote.

Niederhauser will replace Senate President Michael Waddoups, R-Taylorsville, who is retiring at the end of his term and has been called as a mission president for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Sen. Ralph Okerlund, who suffered a heart attack on Monday, was chosen as Senate majority leader after addressing his colleagues by phone from the hospital, where he is expected to stay until next week.

Sen. Stuart Adams, R-Layton, was unopposed as majority whip, and Sen. Peter Knudson, R-Brigham City, was re-elected as assistant whip.

"It’s quite an honor to serve," said Adams. "It’s quite an honor to be here as an elected official representing what we hope is the will of the people."

story continues below
story continues below

Niederhauser, who was elected to the Senate in 2006, is an accountant and real estate developer from Sandy. He also is Utah co-chairman of the American Legislative Exchange Council, a corporate-backed group of conservative lawmakers from around the country that has been criticized for its influence in formulating policy around the country.

Niederhauser is not charting a drastically different course than his predecessor, Waddoups, so far. Asked about alcohol policy, he said he remains concerned about overconsumption and binge drinking. And he said he sees no need for a statewide law prohibiting housing and employment discrimination against gay and lesbian individuals, since local ordinances seem to be working.

In the House, Republicans returned the entire leadership team except for electing Rep. Don Ipson, R-St. George, as assistant whip to fill a vacancy.

Majority Leader Brad Dee, R-Ogden, and Whip Greg Hughes, R-Draper, were re-elected along with Lockhart, while Ipson will replace Rep. Ronda Menlove, R-Garland, who decided not to run again for assistant whip.

"This is a great honor and I take this responsibility very seriously to serve the House for two more years," Lockhart said.

Lockhart became Utah’s first female House speaker two years ago, edging out then-Speaker Dave Clark by one vote. At the time, Lockhart criticized speakers who had served multiple terms, saying they had concentrated too much power in the Speaker’s office.

But Lockhart said that her style has been to diffuse power and let the caucus make decisions.

Meanwhile, Ipson said his main assignment will be helping the large number of freshman lawmakers learn the ropes.

"I’m extremely honored, number one, to be part of this team, number two to represent my colleagues who had enough faith in me to vote for me and to allow me to have this opportunity," Ipson said.

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
Staying Connected
Contests and Promotions
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.