Quantcast
Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts

UHP crackdown on cellphone use catches about 150 violators
New law » Most traffic stops during crackdown resulted in warnings only; six motorists received citations.
First Published May 14 2014 08:40 am • Last Updated May 14 2014 10:11 pm

Motorists violating Utah’s tough new ban on dialing or texting on their cellphones while driving mostly got off with warnings Tuesday, the first day the law took effect.

Don’t expect that leniency down the road, however.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

Utah Highway Patrol troopers plan to enforce the law more stringently in the future, handing out tickets carrying stiff fines and the threat of potential jail time.

UHP Sgt. Todd Royce said troopers rode in the cabs of various trucking company big rigs Tuesday, spotting offenders and radioing the information to cruisers for subsequent traffic stops.

In all, 148 warning tickets were issued statewide. Six other motorists, allegedly seen driving dangerously or erratically while handling their phones, were issued citations for the class C misdemeanor. The latter face fines of up to $100.

The new law makes the offense a class B misdemeanor, carrying a fine of up to $1,000 and possible jail time, if the offender causes an injury accident.

"It was a successful effort. The focus was educational. We accomplished our goal of getting out there and making the public aware of this new law," Royce said Wednesday. "Now, they should know that what was legal the day before is no longer legal now."

Royce referred to loopholes in previous statutes governing cellphone use while driving. Specifically, motorists pulled over for alleged texting — illegal under the old law — would claim they were simply dialing someone, which had not previously been banned.

Troopers complained such shortcomings made it nearly impossible to enforce the older texting-while-driving ban.

Those days are over. The new law outlaws manipulating by hand a cellphone or any other portable electronic device while driving. That includes texting, dialing a phone or even changing music on a smartphone.


story continues below
story continues below

The law does allow, however, actually talking on a handheld cellphone, and exempts manipulating electronics built into the dashboard, such as OnStar or stereo decks that connect to cellphones via wireless Bluetooth frequencies, and use of portable devices for GPS directions.

UHP reported that 63 cellphone-use-related traffic stops were made Tuesday in Salt Lake County alone, while 45 stops were recorded in Utah County and 15 in Davis County. Washington County reported seven stops.

remims@sltrib.com

Twitter: @remims



Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment


About Reader Comments


Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
Staying Connected
Videos
Jobs
Contests and Promotions
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.