Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Three University of Utah researchers elected to Academy of Sciences

By kirsten stewart

| The Salt Lake Tribune

First Published Apr 29 2014 04:02 pm • Last Updated May 01 2014 10:47 pm

Three University of Utah faculty have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Chemist Cynthia Burrows, biochemist Wesley Sundquist and anthropologist Polly Wiessner are among 105 scientists elected this year to the prestigious scientific organization.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

The trio brings to 21 the total number of honorees from the U., according to a news release.

Polly Wiessner • For decades Wiessner has studied the Kalahari bushmen of Botswana and Namibia and the Enga tribes of Papua New Guinea, providing anthropologists "with some of their best models for the cultural evolution of prehistoric societies," according to the journal, Science.

She embraces "engaged anthropology," and arranged funding for food and water supply projects benefitting the Kalahari bushmen and other projects for the Enga.

Wesley Sundquist • Co-chair of the U.’s biochemistry department since 2009, Sundquist won a $19 million federal grant in 2007 to study the molecular biology of the AIDS-causing virus. He and a team of 11 scientists have focused on how HIV hijacks "host" cells, forms new virus particles and spreads to other cells.

Cindy Burrows • Newly-named chairwoman of the U.’s chemistry department, Burrows studies the biochemistry of DNA, zeroing in on the causes of mutations leading to diseases such as cancer.

Established in 1863, the National Academy of Sciences recognizes achievement in science and advises the federal government and other organizations on science, engineering and health policy.

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
Staying Connected
Contests and Promotions
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.