Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Tribune reporters, photographers, designers take top awards

| The Salt Lake Tribune

First Published Mar 07 2014 10:03 am • Last Updated Mar 09 2014 10:17 pm

The Salt Lake Tribune won 40 awards, including 19 first-place prizes, in the Utah Press Association’s annual Better Newspaper contest. Judges singled out the newspaper’s yearlong coverage of the scandal enveloping former Utah Attorney General John Swallow, the same-sex marriage decision, and stories on health care reform and Utah’s air pollution.

The awards were presented at the association’s recent meeting in St. George.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

The Tribune took the General Excellence award and its website, sltrib.com, was named best website in the state in the large-circulation category. The Tribune also won the Community Service Award for its investigation of Swallow.

Tribune reporters and writers who won first place awards are Brooke Adams, Erin Alberty, Thomas Burr, Matt Canham, Nate Carlisle, Jim Dalrymple, Tim Fitzpatrick, Robert Gehrke, Tom Harvey, Robert Kirby, Kurt Kragthorpe, Brian Maffly, Matt Piper, Tony Semerad, Peggy Fletcher Stack, Kirsten Stewart and Lya Wodraska. Tribune photographers Leah Hogsten, Francisco Kjolseth, Trent Nelson and Scott Sommerdorf also took top awards, as did page designers Matt Piper and Joe Whetham.

The Tooele Transcript Bulletin, Vernal Express, Price Sun Advocate and Sanpete Messenger earned general excellence recognition in their circulation categories.

Ellen Cook, editor of the Tremonton Leader, was presented with the association’s Jim Cornwell Award. Deseret News Managing Editor Rick Hall received the master editor and publisher award. Brent Low, president and CEO of MediaOne, the company that handles advertising and production of Salt Lake City’s daily newspapers, was given the association’s John E. Jones Award. Joel Campbell, Brigham Young University journalism professor, was presented with the Honorary Publisher Award.

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
Staying Connected
Contests and Promotions
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.