Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Utah teachers win prestigious math, science awards
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

A Murray teacher and a Spanish Fork teacher are this year's Utah winners of Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, the White House announced Friday.

Rebecca Elder, a teacher at McMillan Elementary in Murray, won the award for math, and Julie Hammari, a teacher at East Meadows Elementary in Spanish Fork, won the award for science.

Each year winners are selected from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Department of Defense schools around the world. Winners receive $10,000 each from the National Science Foundation.

A panel of scientists, mathematicians and educators selects the winners.

"These teachers are inspiring today's young students to become the next generation of American scientists, mathematicians, and innovators," President Barack Obama said in a statement. "Through their passion and dedication, and by sharing their excitement about science, technology, engineering, and math, they are helping us build a promising future for all our children."

Article Tools

 Print Friendly
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.