Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
18 candidates vie to lead Utah education

State school board » Nine seats up for election.

< Previous Page


Twitter: @lschencker

At a glance

State school board candidates

District 1 » D. Alan Shakespear, owner/operator of C & K Rentals LLC in Logan, farmer, former IT manager at State Office of Education; Tami W. Pyfer (incumbent), research coordinator, clinical instructor and student teacher supervisor at Utah State University.

District 4 » Bruce Davis, Weber State University vice provost and dean of Continuing Education, board member of Northern Utah Academy for Math, Engineering and Science charter school; David L. Thomas, (incumbent), chief civil deputy Summit County attorney, South Weber City Council.

District 7 » Carlton A. Getz, electrical engineer, founder and managing director of Winter Harbor Advisors LLC and founder and president of Getz & Associates Inc.; Leslie Brooks Castle (incumbent), nurse, curriculum consultant for The Waterford School.

District 8 » Chris Williams, IBM Corporation client executive; Jennifer A. Johnson, founder and president Coraticum Asset Management LLC., vice president of The CFA Society of Salt Lake.

District 10 » Dave Crandall, (incumbent), chairman of Summit Academy charter school board, consultant and project manager with Spring2 Technologies; Nina Marie Welker, adjunct faculty member at Salt Lake Community College, bookkeeper at Studio Techniques Dance.

District 11 » Jefferson Moss, vice president/investment specialist at Key Private Bank; Sergio X. Vasquez, manager of laboratory operations at Numira Biosciences and application development scientist/technical director.

District 12 » Dixie L. Allen, (incumbent) retired educator from Uintah School District, state school board member since 2002; Wendy Simmerman, academic tutoring coordinator at Utah Valley University.

District 13 » Ken Parkinson, attorney and shareholder at Howard, Lewis & Petersen P.C., and board member of Freedom Academy charter school; C. Mark Openshaw, (incumbent), co-founder and president of AirComUSA, a telecommunications business.

District 15 » Barbara W. Corry, former Iron County School Board member, owner of BC Hats; Bette Oveson Arial,senior advisor at the Sutherland Institute, former state school board member.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
Staying Connected
Contests and Promotions
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.