Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Four Utah professors are recipients of Governor's Science Medals
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Four professors from Utah State University and the University of Utah are among recipients of the Governor's Science Medals for 2011. In an announcement released Monday by Utah Gov. Gary Herbert, U. chemist Edward "Ted" Eyring and mathematician Hugo Rossi were singled out for their achievements over long careers in scientific research and science education.

"Over the last 24 years, the state of Utah has recognized innovators, entrepreneurs, educators and science industry pioneers with the annual Governor's Science Medals. With this prestigious award, we both celebrate those outstanding achievements and acknowledge their hard work and perseverance," Herbert said in a news release. "Each day we face challenges and solve problems. These honorees have found solutions and opened our eyes to new horizons. In countless ways, these award recipients exemplify the best in all of us."

Eyring, the oldest son of the legendary U. chemist Henry Eyring, is a revered teacher on the U. campus and is a researcher in theoretical and physical chemistry. He is currently developing new catalytic materials that improve the speed and efficiency of chemical reactions.

Herbert chose this year's recipients with help from state science adviser Tami Goetz and the State Advisory Council on Science and Technology. The prizes were to be awarded in a ceremony Tuesday night in Discovery Gateway Children's Museum.

The recipients

Academia • Byard D. Wood, USU; Bruce Bugbee, USU professor of plants, soils and climate; Edward M. Eyring of the U.

Industry • Tim Miller of Echelon Biosciences and Kelly B. Powers of CR Bard Access Systems.

Government • Amanda Smith, the governor's energy adviser and director of the Department of Environmental Quality.

Education • Hugo Rossi, professor emeritus of math and senior associate director of the Center for Science and Mathematics Education.

Special Recognition Award • Richard R. Nelson, Utah Technology Council, and the Utah Advanced Composites Team, including Gary Harter of GOED, Jeff Edwards of EDCUtah, and Steve Rodgers of EmergenTek.

Article Tools

 Print Friendly
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.