Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
U. of U. professors elected to National Academy of Inventors
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Four University of Utah faculty members, including President David W. Pershing, have been elected as charter fellows of the National Academy of Inventors.

In addition to Pershing, who also is a professor of chemical engineering, the other new charter fellows from the U. are Stephen C. Jacobsen, professor of mechanical engineering; Thomas N. Parks, vice president for research and professor of neurobiology and anatomy; and Sung Wan Kim, professor of pharmaceutics and pharmaceutical chemistry.

The honor "is bestowed upon academic innovators and inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions and innovations that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society," the academy said.

The four faculty members are among 98 new charter fellows of the academy from 54 universities and nonprofit research institutes. There are 12 university or research institute presidents among the new fellows, including Pershing.

The new charter fellows will be inducted by U.S. Commissioner for Patents Margaret Focarino on Feb. 22, when the academy holds its second annual conference in Tampa, Fla.

Article Tools

 Print Friendly
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.