Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Four more Utah counties declared disaster areas
Relief » 20 in state now under drought designation, and remaining nine are vulnerable.
First Published Jul 19 2012 07:32 am • Last Updated Oct 30 2012 11:33 pm

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared four more counties in Utah primary disaster areas because of damage and losses caused by drought and excessive heat, bringing the number of designated counties in the state to 20.

The additional counties are Garfield, Kane, Wasatch and Wayne. They are among 39 in eight states added to a list of more than 1,000 nationally that have come under the largest such declaration ever by the USDA.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

Utah counties that made the initial list earlier this month were Box Elder, Carbon, Daggett, Duchesne, Emery, Grand, Juab, Millard, San Juan, Sanpete, Sevier, Summit, Tooele, Uintah, Utah and Washington.

Utah’s remaining nine counties have been declared vulnerable because of their proximity to primary disaster areas.

The disaster designation means farmers and ranchers are eligible for emergency low-interest loans to help them weather the drought, wildfires and other issues. About $39 million is available under the program nationwide.

Under the declaration, the federal government is streamlining the process for farmers and ranchers to apply for government disaster help and lowering the interest rate on emergency loans to 2.25 percent from 3.75 percent to combat the widest drought in years. The government also is reducing penalties for grazing livestock on land set aside for conservation.

Other affected states in this week’s declaration were Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Tennessee and Wyoming.

Earlier this month, the USDA designated 1,297 counties across 26 states as disaster areas — about a third of the counties in the entire country on land covering half the nation. The agency also designated the entire state of Missouri a disaster drought area in response to a request from the state’s governor.

"Our hearts go out to all of those affected by this drought," said Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack. "President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times."

The U.S. Drought Monitor reports that 61 percent of the continental United States is in a moderate to exceptional drought.

story continues below
story continues below

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
Staying Connected
Contests and Promotions
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.