Mobile edition | Switch to full site | 33°Partly Cloudy

BYU’s Haws, Hamson earn WCC Player of Year honors

(Chris Detrick | The Salt Lake Tribune) BYU's Tyler Haws poses for a portrait at the Marriott Center Tuesday October 30, 2012.

By Jay Drew

The Salt Lake Tribune

First published Mar 03 2014 04:02PM
Updated Mar 3, 2014 10:19PM

For the fourth time in his nine-year tenure as BYU basketball coach, Dave Rose has guided a conference player of the year.

Junior guard Tyler Haws received the West Coast Conference’s highest individual player honor Monday as the league released its awards and all-conference team.

Haws and BYU sophomore guard Kyle Collinsworth earned all-WCC First Team honors, while junior guard Matt Carlino was named an honorable mention selection and forward Eric Mika was named to the WCC All-Freshman Team.

San Francisco’s Rex Walter, who guided his team to a tie for second place with BYU in the league standings, is the WCC Coach of the Year. Pepperdine’s Brendan Lane is the Defensive Player of the Year and Santa Clara’s Jared Brownridge is the Newcomer of the Year.

Coaches vote on the conference honors and are directed to consider league games only. They cannot vote for their own players.

Haws led the WCC in scoring for the second straight season, averaging 23.5 points per game, exceeding the second-highest finisher by more than five points per game.

Keena Young (2007), Lee Cummard (2008) and Jimmer Fredette (2011) also won conference player of the year honors under Rose.

The Cougars swept the league’s player of the year honors as Jennifer Hamson was named the WCC women’s basketball Player of the Year.

Hamson was also named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year and made the all-WCC First Team. Guard Lexi Eaton, who missed last year with a major knee injury, made the all-WCC First Team, while forward Kim Beeston was an honorable mention selection.

Latest in Sports
blog comments powered by Disqus