Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts

Review: Tenors Florez, Brownlee offer new albums
New releases » Juan Diego Florez, “L’Amour” (Decca); and Lawrence Brownlee, “Virtuoso Rossini Arias” (Delos).
First Published Apr 08 2014 09:59 am • Last Updated Apr 14 2014 12:00 pm

For more than a decade, Peruvian Juan Diego Florez and American Lawrence Brownlee have been the world’s leading bel canto tenors, thrilling audiences with their high notes and technical agility in operas by Rossini, Donizetti and other early 19th-century composers.

Now in their early 40s, they have released new albums that show them in elegant form and offer a chance to savor the differences between the two light-voiced marvels.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

Florez’s first new album in four years is a compilation of arias from French opera, ranging from Adrien Boieldieu’s obscure "La Dame blanche" to Offenbach’s still-popular "La belle Hélène."

Especially noteworthy are three forays into romantic repertory usually associated with bigger voices — two selections from Jules Massenet’s "Werther" and one from Charles Gounod’s "Roméo et Juliette." Though Florez’s sound may be a bit warmer and fuller than in the past and he sings with grace and sensitivity, his voice still seems small for such fare and still bears the penetrating nasal quality that his detractors have always found off-putting. And he clearly has to push the limits of his resources on the climactic high notes. How well he can handle such roles onstage remains a question to be answered when he debuts as Werther in a couple of years.

For many fans, the album’s highlight will be an irresistibly jaunty rendition of "Mes amis, écoutez l’histoire" from Adolphe Adam’s "Le Postillon de Lonjumeau." This aria is notable for ascending to a climactic high D, which Florez hits beautifully.

He is ably accompanied by the Orchestra e Coro del Teatro Comunale di Bologna, conducted by Roberto Abbado.

Brownlee’s album — his first compilation of arias with orchestra — is all Rossini and all splendid. There’s an ardent sweetness to his voice that contrasts strikingly with Florez’s more astringent sound. And he is no less a technical magician. Note his repeated daring lunges to high C in "Che ascolta" from "Otello," or the astonishing 16 seconds he holds the final B-flat in a selection from the one-act "L’occasione fa il ladro."

Constantine Orbelain conducts the Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra of Lithuania.

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
Staying Connected
Contests and Promotions
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.