Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Director Diao Yinan speaks to the audience after receiving the Golden Bear for Best Film for the movie Black Coal, Thin Ice, during the award ceremony at the International Film Festival Berlinale in Berlin, Saturday, Feb. 15, 2014. (AP Photo/Axel Schmidt)
Diao Yinan’s ‘Black Coal, Thin Ice,’ wins at Berlin film fest
First Published Feb 15 2014 01:30 pm • Last Updated Feb 15 2014 01:30 pm

Berlin • Director Diao Yinan’s "Black Coal, Thin Ice," a detective thriller set in northern China, won the Berlin International Film Festival’s main Golden Bear prize on Saturday. The movie also picked up the best actor award, which went to Liao Fan.


Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

"Black Coal, Thin Ice," Diao’s third feature film, stars Liao as a former policeman turned detective investigating a mysterious series of killings in a gritty industrial region that started when he was an officer. He is drawn to a mysterious woman who appears to be connected to the victims.

"It’s really hard to believe that this dream has come true — a dream that I’ve had for such a long time and that didn’t come true for such a long time," Diao said as he accepted the Golden Bear statuette. "It’s wonderful."

Liao told the jury he turned 40 on Friday and "this is the most wonderful birthday present you could have given me."

"Before I left Beijing to come here I said to my mom, I’m not coming back if I don’t win this prize," he joked. "Thank you very much for not leaving me in the lurch."


Wes Anderson’s "The Grand Budapest Hotel," a caper set in a fictional spa town in pre-World War II Europe with a strong ensemble cast including Ralph Fiennes, Bill Murray and Edward Norton, won the jury grand prize, which comes with a runner-up Silver Bear. Anderson presented the movie when it opened the festival Feb. 6, but couldn’t make it to Saturday’s award ceremony — so festival director Dieter Kosslick picked up the prize on his behalf.

The ceremony presenters read out what they said was an acceptance message from Anderson, in which he said he had previously received a "palme de chocolat" in a gift bag at the Cannes Film Festival — but "this Silver Bear is the first both full-scale and genuinely metallic prize I have ever received from a film festival, so I feel particularly honored, moved and indeed thrilled to accept it." Kosslick said he is flying to the U.S. next week and would bring Anderson the award.


story continues below
story continues below

American filmmaker Richard Linklater took the best director honor for "Boyhood." Made over 12 years, it follows a boy — played by Ellar Coltrane — from first grade to college, watching him grow up as his divorced parents (Patricia Arquette and Ethan Hawke) chart their course through parenthood and relationships. Linklater said he was accepting the award "on behalf of the over 400 people who worked on my movie all these years, cast and crew."

"It says best director, but I’ll think of it as best ensemble," he said.


Japan’s Haru Kuroki was named best actress for her part in "The Little House," from veteran director Yoji Yamada, a film about a covert love affair in Japan set against the backdrop of World War II. Kuroki said she wasn’t expecting the honor — "it’s only because director Yamada has made such a wonderful film that I’m able to stand up here this evening."


Diao’s winning entry was one of three Chinese films in the 20-movie competition this year. Another Chinese entry, director Lou Ye’s "Blind Massage" — an adaptation of a popular novel that’s set largely in a massage center run by the blind — won the festival’s outstanding artistic contribution prize for its cinematography.

German director Dietrich Brueggemann’s "Stations of the Cross," a tragic tale of a teenage girl in an ultraconservative Catholic community striving for spiritual perfection, was honored for the best script. And the festival’s Alfred Bauer prize for innovation went to 91-year-old French director Alain Resnais’ "Life of Riley," an adaptation of a play by British playwright Alan Ayckbourn.

An eight-member jury under "Brokeback Mountain" producer James Schamus chose the winners.

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
Staying Connected
Contests and Promotions
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.