Quantcast

Red Butte Garden offers record number of summer concerts in 2013

Published April 15, 2013 9:17 am

Music • Highlights include Steely Dan, Tony Bennett, The Black Crowes, David Byrne and jazz with Esperanza Spalding.
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Red Butte Garden will host 28 concerts during its 2013 Outdoor Concert Series — two more than last year's record-breaking line up.

The 2013 musical list includes younger acts such as Vampire Weekend and She & Him as well as classics such as Garrison Keillor, Kenny Loggins and Earth, Wind & Fire.

First-time performers at the Garden — or those who haven't been to Utah in a while — include the incomparable Tony Bennett (June 20), Merle Haggard (July 30), Steely Dan (Aug. 10) and George Thorogood (Aug. 27).

This year Red Butte Garden has added a Rose House, an 80-person green room for performers at the Amphitheatre.

We could go on about the Rose House and what it adds to the series — but we suspect you've already zoomed straight to the list that accompanies this story of performers scheduled to play one of Utah's most beloved summer concert series.

Among the not-to-miss dates:

July 15 • the compelling collaboration between 60-year-old David Byrne and 30-year-old singer-songwriter St. Vincent

July 25 • country maverick Dwight Yoakam

Aug. 20 • the welcome return of John Prine to the Garden

Aug. 29 • a celebration of jazz giant Wayne Shorter's 80th birthday that will include a trio led by Esperanza Spalding

Sept. 15 • The latest Black Crowes reunion

Season and partial-season packages go on sale April 22, but the best option for people who want to get tickets to the most high-in-demand shows will be to buy a membership with concert-buying privileges. The least expensive option is $45 —$10 more than last year.

People with a membership will be able to buy tickets one week ahead of the general public, and the ticket prices for members are $5 less than what the general public pays. Each year, many shows sell out before the general public has an opportunity to buy tickets.

If you have reached this point of the story, perhaps you are interested in the Rose House. Derrek Hanson, director of events at Red Butte Garden, said that besides being an ideal spot for weddings and banquets, the Rose House will add a better overall experience for the performers who come to play. In the past, temporary tents were used for dressing room and catering. "From the second they get there, they will have a better experience," he said.

And better experiences mean more return performers. Perhaps the new Rose House will mean Brandi Carlile will want to come twice a season.

dburger@sltrib.com

Red Butte Garden's 2013 Outdoor Concert Series schedule

List includes prices for general public (prices for Garden members are $5 less per ticket).

Tuesday, May 21 • Vampire Weekend with HAIM, $45

Thursday, May 30 • Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, $39

Sunday, June 9 • Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue with Big Head Todd and the Monsters, $43

Sunday, June 16 • Grace Potter and the Nocturnals, $42

Wednesday, June 19 • Jackson Browne with Sara Watkins, $60

Thursday, June 20 • Tony Bennett, $72

Monday, June 24 • Tedeschi Trucks Band, $49

Tuesday, June 25 • She & Him with Tilly and the Wall, $50

Friday, July 5 • Old Crow Medicine Show, $40

Tuesday, July 9 • Pink Martini, $42

Friday, July 12 • Rodrigo y Gabriela, $45

Sunday, July 14 • Brandi Carlile with The Lone Bellow, $42

Sunday, July 15 • David Byrne & St. Vincent, $55

Wednesday, July 17 • Garrison Keillor's A Prairie Home Companion Radio Romance Tour with Aoife O'Donovan, $57

Tuesday, July 23 • Kenny Loggins with Blue Sky Riders, $47

Thursday, July 25 • Dwight Yoakam, $47

Tuesday, July 30 • Merle Haggard, $50

Sunday, Aug. 4 • Medeski Martin & Wood with John Scofield's Uberjam Band, $40

Wednesday, Aug. 7 • Steve Miller Band, $70

Saturday, Aug. 10 • Steely Dan, $75

Wednesday, Aug. 14 • John Butler Trio, $38

Sunday, Aug. 18 • Michael Franti & Spearhead, $48

Tuesday, Aug. 20 • John Prine, $50

Tuesday, Aug. 27 • George Thorogood and the Destroyers with Buddy Guy, $53

Thursday, Aug. 29 • Wayne Shorter Quartet with Joe Lovano & Dave Douglas Quintet and ACS (feat. Esperanza Spalding), $50

Sunday, Sept. 15 • The Black Crowes, $47

Monday, Sept. 16 • Neko Case, $40

Tuesday, Sept. 17 • Earth, Wind & Fire, $63

Note: Shows begin at 7 p.m. or 7:30 p.m., with exception of Tony Bennett's show, which begins at 8 p.m. —

Ticket information

Here are some dates to remember for ticket purchases.

Today • Tickets are on sale now for Vampire Weekend and Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros

April 22 • Full and partial season ticket packages available for purchase.

April 29 • Individual tickets for Red Butte Garden members go on sale. Memberships with concert-buying privileges start at $45. Garden member tickets are $5 less than general public tickets

May 6 • All tickets for the general public go on sale.

To purchase • By phone 801-585-0556, tickets.redbuttegarden.org/TheatreManager/1/login&event=0, or the Visitor Center

Children • Children 2 and younger do not need tickets. Children ages 3-12 require a reduced-rate child ticket. Those 13 and older need a full-price adult ticket.