Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Atoms For Peace will haunt and hypnotize you
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Grade • B+

CD • Atoms For Peace — which takes its name from an 1953 Eisenhower speech about the threats and benefits of atomic warfare — has been called a supergroup for its assemblage of well-known musicians such as Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, drummer Joey Waronker of Beck & R.E.M and Brazilian percussionist Mauro Refosco, who has toured with the Peppers, Brian Eno and Byrne.

But the two dominant stars, from which the debut album "Amok" takes shape, are Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke (with his signature falsetto simmering and soaring to evocative effect) and longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich.

The electronic tracks sound much like out-takes from recent Radiohead sessions except for one crucial and pleasing element: these songs are songs, rather than Radiohead's electronic experiments that even Miles Davis would find self-indulgent.

These synth-heavy songs, with the blend of the explorative nature of electronica and the craftsmanship of rock, make this collection hauntingly hypnotic. —

Jonesing for more PopTop reviews?

For an archive of more CD, video and game reviews, visit http://www.sltrib.com/topics/poptop.

Article Tools

 Print Friendly
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.