Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
PopTop review: Underwood shows drive on new disc
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.


CD • With a co-writing credit on 8 of the 14 tracks on her new album "Blown Away" — out this Tuesday — Carrie Underwood has taken the reins on an album that shows a comfortable versatility in different styles, including the reggae-influenced "One Way Ticket."

But for most of the album, the songs have a darker tone straight from the Dixie Chicks' playbook, with no fewer than two songs revolving around murdering a man who's done the golden-voiced songbird wrong.

While the subject matter and the lyric-writing are engaging, too often the music takes a back seat, without hooks to make the vinegar go down easier.

For an archive of more CD, video and game reviews, go to http://www.sltrib.com/topics/poptop.

Article Tools

 Print Friendly
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.