Women's softball: BYU's JC Clayton earns top player honor; 7 others all-conference

Published May 21, 2013 1:38 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

BYU's senior shortstop JC Clayton was named the PCSC Player of the Year, while Gordy Bravowas named Freshman of the Year and head coach Gordon Eakin was given his fourth Coach of the Year award.

The BYU women's softball team had a conference-high eight players on the All-PCSC team. In addition to Clayton and Bravo, senior outfielder Alexandra Hudson Shamo, senior utility player Bailie Hicken and junior pitcher-utility Katie Manuma were also named to the all-conference first team.

Senior pitcher Hannah Howell, junior third baseman Madisen Robb and freshman second baseman Coco Taualii also picked up second-team honors to round out the all-conference awards for BYU.

Clayon was second in the PCSC in batting average at .383, and also led the conference in hits with 77 and runs scored with 45.

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus