Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Aggieville: USU Sports
Steve Luhm and Lya Wodraska
Steve Luhm and Lya Wodraska cover Utah State athletics for The Salt Lake Tribune. Lya Wodraska is on twitter at @LyaWodraska, Steve Luhm is on twitter at @sluhm

» E-mail Lya Wodraska

» E-mail Steve Luhm

» Subscribe (RSS)

(Chris Detrick | The Salt Lake Tribune) Utah State Aggies head coach Matt Wells gets water dumped on him after the game at Merlin Olsen Field at Romney Stadium Saturday November 30, 2013. Utah State defeated Wyoming 35-7. The Aggies will visit Fresno State in the title game next Saturday to complete their first season of MW competition.
Utah State coach Matt Wells, 14 Aggies earn Mountain West honors

They didn't win the Mountain West. They came close. After season-ending injuries to five offensive starters, few expected as much out of the Aggies.

The Mountain West's all-conference honors were released Tuesday morning, and Utah State's selections reflected the achievement. Coach Matt Wells was named conference coach of the year for guiding the Aggies to win the Mountain Division with an 8-5 record, while 14 team members were included in all-Mountain West honors.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

In his first year, Wells has tied the program record for wins by a rookie head coach. He became the fourth man to win Mountain West coach of the year in his first season coaching in the conference, following in-state footsteps by BYU's Gary Crowton (2001) and Urban Meyer (2003).

Three Aggies made the first team, all seniors. Center Tyler Larsen, a Rimington Trophy finalist, was named to the first-team offense, while linebacker Jake Doughty and cornerback Nevin Lawson were named to the first-team defense.

Four Aggies defenders made the second team. Senior tackle A.J. Pataiali'i and junior end B.J. Larsen were honored on the line, while junior Zach Vigil and sophomore Kyler Fackrell gave Utah State two of the three second-team linebacker spots.

Seven other Utah State players were named honorable mentions: senior safety Maurice Alexander, senior running back Joey DeMartino, junior kicker Nick Diaz, senior guard Jamie Markosian, sophomore receiver Jojo Natson, senior tackle Eric Schultz, and junior safety Brian Suite.

The Aggies' senior class in all garnered eight individual honors. The class has the school record for wins in a four-year span with 31.

Some familiar names rounded out the players of the year honors. Senior quarterback Derek Carr of Fresno State was the offensive player of the year, while senior linebacker Shaquil Barrett of Colorado State was the defensive player of the year. Two other players the Aggies faced, New Mexico's Carlos Wiggins and San Jose State's Tyler Winston, were named special teams player and freshman of the year, respectively.

The season is not yet over for Utah State, which will face Northern Illinois in the Poinsettia Bowl on Dec. 26.

— Kyle Goon


Twitter: @kylegoon

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
USU Football Schedule
USU Basketball Schedule
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.