Home » Blogs

Sundance Film Festival

Slamdance announces its award winners

First Published      Last Updated Jan 24 2014 04:35 pm

The Slamdance Film Festival has finished up its annual run, giving out awards Thursday night.

Here are the award winners:

• Audience Award, Documentary Feature: "Kidnapped for Christ," directed by Kate S. Logan.

• Audience Award, Narrative Feature: "Copenhagen," directed by Mark Raso.

• Jury Award, Narrative Feature: "Rezeta," directed by Fernando Frias De La Parra.

• Jury Special Mention for Original Vision: "I Play With the Phrase Each Other," directed by Jay Alvarez.

• Jury Award, Documentary Feature: "Elliot," directed by Matthew Bauckman and Jaret Belliveau.

• Jury Special Mention for Most Compelling Personal Journey: "Huntington's Dance," directed by Chris Furbee.

• Jury Award, Documentary Short: "Glass Eyes of Locust Bayou," directed by Simon Mercer.

• Jury Special Mention for Cinematography in a Documentary Short: "White Earth," directed by J. Christian Jensen.

• Jury Award, Narrative Short: "Daybreak," directed by Ian Lagarde.

• Jury Special Mention for Narrative Short: "The Way," directed by Max Ksjonda.

• Jury Award: Animation Short: "The Path of Wind," directed by Kim Ju-im.

• Jury Award, Experimental Short: "Real Ethereal," directed by Evan Mann.

• Jury Award, Anarchy Short, "WAWD AHP," directed by Steve Girard.

• Spirit of Slamdance Award: "The Greggs," directed by Bruce Bundy, Nigel DeFriez, Rob Malone, Kira Pearson, Alex Mechanik, Jessie Levandov, Jonathan Rosenblit.

• Blackmagic Design Cinematography Award: "Sometimes I Dream I'm Flying," directed by Aneta Popiel-Machnicka.

• Slamdance Trailer Competition Grand Prize: "Love Steaks," directed by Jakob Lass.

-- Sean P. Means