Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Real Salt Lake
Chris Kamrani
Chris Kamrani covers Real Salt Lake for the Tribune.

» E-mail

» Subscribe (RSS)

Major League Soccer releases competition format for 2012

A balanced schedule and a change in the Western Conference Championship format highlight Major League Soccer's competition format for the 2012 regular season and MLS Cup Playoffs.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

Also, beginning next season, the MLS championship game will be hosted by the team with the most points in the standings. The addition of a 19th team, the Montreal Impact, had consequences on scheduling.

"We have established a fair and compelling format for the 2012 season," said MLS Executive Vice President Nelson Rodriguez. "This regular season will include more games between regional rivals and less total travel than we have seen in recent years. Because of the wide geographic distribution of MLS clubs, this structure should improve the quality of play, while continuing to give every club an equal chance of qualifying for the MLS Cup Playoffs."

As released by MLS, here are the competitive guidelines for 2012:

Each of the 19 MLS clubs will play 34 games, 17 at home and 17 away.

All clubs will play an equal schedule within their respective conference.

Western Conference: 24 in-conference plus 10 out-of-conference games — Western Conference clubs will play each West opponent 3 times (24 games); West clubs will play four conference opponents twice at home and once away; They will play the other four conference opponents once at home and twice away. (The home and away games will be reversed in 2013.)

Western Conference clubs will play each East opponent once each (10 games): Five of these will be at home and five will be away. (The East opponents each team faces at home and away will be reversed in 2013.)

Eastern Conference: 25 in-conference plus nine out-of-conference games — Eastern Conference clubs will play 25 games against other East clubs; East teams will play seven conference opponents three times each (21 games) and two conference opponents twice each (four games).

Eastern Conference clubs will play each West opponent once each (nine games) — Some will play four at home and five away while others will play five at home and four away. (The West opponents each team faces at home and away will be reversed in 2013.)


Ten clubs will qualify for the MLS Cup Playoffs – the top five in points from each conference at the end of the regular season.

The fourth- and fifth- place teams will play a single knockout game, the winner of which will advance to the Conference Semifinals and face the first-place team in the conference.

The Conference Semifinals will be decided by a two-game, aggregate-goal format (same as 2011).

The Conference Championships will be decided by a two-game, aggregate-goal format (change from recent years).

MLS Cup will be hosted by the finalist that finished the regular season with the most points in the standings.



Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.