Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Salem Hill's Bohling named state's best
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

She dominated Class 4A softball, her right arm leading her Salem Hills Skyhawks to a state championship.

Kirtlyn Bohling now has been recognized for it on a national level.

In its 28th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, announced Bohling as its 2012-13 Gatorade Utah Softball Player of the Year on Thursday.

Bohling, a 5-foot-9 junior pitcher, led the Skyhawks (25-3) in the circle and posted a 24-2 record with a 0.35 ERA and 281 strikeouts over 158 2/3 innings. She had 16 shutouts and two no-hitters.

Bohling batted .466 with two home runs, 33 RBIs and a .589 slugging percentage.

She hit a pair of postseason grand slams, none larger than a walk-off grand slam in a 6-2 win over Box Elder that sent the Skyhawks to the 4A semifinal.

Bohling maintained a 4.0 grade-point average in the classroom and has volunteered locally at the Spanish Fork Public Library as well as on behalf of blood-donation drives and as part of multiple community service initiatives in association with her church youth group.

Bohling has made a verbal commitment to play softball on an athletic scholarship at Salt Lake Community College beginning in the fall of 2014.

"Kirtlyn Bohling is by far the best pitcher in the state," Roy coach Mandy Koford said in a release. "She is confident, extremely talented and seems like a good leader on the field. To have that in the circle and then turn around and have her be a giant clutch hitter is simply relentless."

Bohling joins recent Gatorade Utah Softball Players of the Year winners Jordan Theurer (2011-12, Bear River), MaCauley Flint (2010-11, Roy), Tori Almond (2009-10, Bingham), Shelbi Tyteca (2008-09, Viewmont), Tori Almond (2007-08, Bingham), and Cyd Allen (2006 – 07, Taylorsville) among the state's list of former award winners.

— Chris Kamrani


Twitter: @chriskamrani

Article Tools

 Print Friendly
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.