Pac-12: Oregon, Utah have four Super Bowl players apiece

Published January 29, 2013 6:24 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Thanks largely to Utah and Oregon, the Pac-12 is fairly well represented in Sunday's Super Bowl XLVII in New Orleans. However, none of the four ex-Utes on the rosters actually competed in the school's Pac-12 era.

The Utes have San Francisco backup quarterback Alex Smith and three Baltimore players, defensive lineman Ma'ake Kemoeatu, linebacker Paul Kruger and receiver David Reed. Oregon's alumni include Baltimore tight end Ed Dickson and defensive tackle Haloti Ngata and San Francisco defensive tackle Will Tukuafu and running back LaMichael James. Arizona State claims Baltimore linebacker Terrell Suggs and San Francisco tight end/long snapper Brian Jennings.

Three schools list one player each: Baltimore linebacker Brendon Ayanbadejo of UCLA, Baltimore cornerback Jimmy Smith of Colorado and San Francisco safety Dashon Goldson of Washington.

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus