Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Political Cornflakes
Tribune Political Reporters
Political Cornflakes is a clearinghouse for all kinds of intriguing political tidbits from our political team in Salt Lake City and Washington, D.C.

» E-mail

Subscribe (RSS)

Sign up for Political Cornflakes. Want to be in the know? Join the growing list of political junkies who receive the latest political news in an easy-to-read morning email.

Email cornflakes@sltrib.com to subscribe.

How they voted on the HB76 override

There may not have been a whole lot of drama in it, but the Legislature officially voted Friday not to call itself back in session to override Gov. Gary Herbert's veto of HB76, Concealed Carry Amendments, which would have allowed adults to carry a hidden, unloaded weapon without obtaining a permit.

The House vote was 41 in favor of overriding the governor's veto, with 33 voting against. The Senate vote was 16 in favor of the override and 13 against. Constitutionally, it requires two-thirds of both chambers to override a veto, meaning it would have taken 50 supporters in the House and 20 in the Senate.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

Below is the list of how each member voted on the override question.

Senate Tally

Supporting the override session:

Sen. Stuart Adams, R-Layton

Sen. Allen Christensen, R-Ogden

Sen. Margaret Dayton, R-Orem

Sen. Wayne Harper, R-Taylorsville

Sen. Deidre Henderson, R-Spanish Fork

Sen. David Hinkins, R-Orangeville

Sen. Scott Jenkins, R-Plain City

Sen. Mark Madsen, R-Eagle Mountain

Sen. Aaron Osmond, R-South Jordan

Sen. Stuart Reid, R-Ogden

Sen. Howard Stephenson, R-Draper

Sen. Jerry Stevenson, R-Layton

Sen. Daniel Thatcher, R-West Valley City

Sen. Steve Urquhart, R-St. George

Sen. Kevin Van Tassell, R-Vernal

Sen. Todd Weiler, R-Woods Cross

Opposing the veto override:

Sen. Curt Bramble, R-Provo

Sen. Jim Dabakis, D-Salt Lake City

Sen. Gene Davis, D-Salt Lake City

Sen. Lyle Hillyard, R-Logan

Sen. Pat Jones, D-Holladay

Sen. Peter Knudson, R-Brigham City

Sen. Karen Mayne, D-West Valley City

Sen. Ralph Okerlund, R-Monroe

Sen. Luz Robles, D-Salt Lake City

Sen. Brian Shiozawa, R-Cottonwood Heights

Sen. John Valentine, R-Orem

Sen. Evan Vickers, R-Cedar City

Senate President Wayne Niederhauser, R-Sandy

House Tally

Supporting the veto override:

Rep. Jake Anderegg, R-Lehi

Rep. Jerry Anderson, R-Price

Rep. Stewart Barlow, R-Fruit Heights

Rep. Roger Barrus, R-Centerville

Rep. Mel Brown, R-Coalville

Rep. LaVar Christensen, R-Draper

Rep. Kay Christofferson, R-Lehi

Rep. Rich Cunningham, R-South Jordan

Rep. Brad Dee, R-Ogden

Rep. Susan Duckworth, D-Magna

Rep. Jim Dunnigan, R-Taylorsville

Rep. Francis Gibson, R-Mapleton

Rep. Brian Greene, R-Pleasant Grove

Rep. Richard Greenwood, R-Roy

Rep. Keith Grover, R-Provo

Rep. Greg Hughes, R-Draper

Rep. Eric Hutchings, R-Kearns

Rep. Ken Ivory, R-West Jordan

Rep. Michael Kennedy, R-Alpine

Rep. John Knotwell, R-Herriman

Rep. Dana Layton, R-Orem

Rep. David Lifferth, R-Eagle Mountain

Rep. John Mathis, R-Vernal

Rep. Dan McCay, R-Riverton

Rep. Mike McKell, R-Spanish Fork

Rep. Ronda Menlove, R-Garland

Rep. Merrill Nelson, R-Grantsville

Rep. Jim Nielson, R-Bountiful

Rep. Mike Noel, R-Kanab

Rep. Curt Oda, R-Centerville

Rep. Lee Perry, R-Perry

Rep. Val Peterson, R-Orem

Rep. Paul Ray, R-Clearfield

Rep. Marc Roberts, R-Spanish Fork

Rep. Dean Sanpei, R-Provo

Rep. Curt Webb, R-Logan

Rep. John Westwood, R-Cedar City

Rep. Ryan Wilcox, R-Ogden

Rep. Larry Wiley, D-Salt Lake City

Rep. Brad Wilson, R-Kaysville

Speaker Becky Lockhart, R-Provo

Opposing the veto override:

Rep. Johnny Andeson, R-Taylorsville

Rep. Patrice Arent, D-Millcreek

Rep. Jim Bird, R-West Jordan

Rep. Joel Briscoe, D-Salt Lake City

Rep. Derek Brown, R-Cottonwood Heights

Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck, D-Salt Lake City

Rep. Tim Cosgrove, D-Murray

Rep. Spencer Cox, R-Nephi

Rep. Jack Draxler, R-Logan

Rep. Becky Edwards, R-North Salt Lake

Rep. Steve Eliason, R-Sandy

Rep. Janice Fisher, D-West Valley City

Rep. Gage Froerer, R-Huntsville

Rep. Craig Hall, R-West Valley City

Rep. Steve Handy, R-Layton

Rep. Lynn Hemingway, D-Salt Lake City

Rep. Don Ipson, R-St. George

Rep. Brian King, D-Salt Lake City

Rep. Brad Last, R-Washington

Rep. Kay McIff, R-Richfield

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss, D-Cottonwood

Rep. Jeremy Peterson, R-Ogden

Rep. Dixon Pitcher, R-Ogden

Rep. Marie Poulson, D-Salt Lake City

Rep. Kraig Powell, R-Heber City

Rep. Edward Redd, R-Logan

Rep. Angela Romero, D-Salt Lake City

Rep. Jennifer Seelig, D-Salt Lake City

Rep. Lowry Snow, R-St. George

Rep. Jon Stanard, R-St. George

Rep. Kevin Stratton, R-Orem

Rep. Earl Tanner, R-West Jordan

Rep. Mark Wheatley, D-Salt Lake City

Rep. Dougals Sagers, R-Tooele, did not respond.

-- Robert Gehrke

Twitter: @RobertGehrke

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.