Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Utah Jazz Notes
Jazz Reporters
Aaron Falk, Tony Jones and Steve Luhm cover the Utah Jazz and the NBA for The Salt Lake Tribune. The Tribune on Twitter - Aaron Falk: @tribjazz, Steve Luhm: @sluhm, Tony Jones: @Tjonessltrib

» Jazz section

» E-mail Aaron Falk

» E-mail Steve Luhm

» E-mail Tony Jones

» Subscribe (RSS)

Utah Jazz's Gordon Hayward receives votes for NBA's most improved player

Jazz forward Gordon Hayward received one second-place vote and a third-place vote for the NBA's 2011-12 most improved player, the NBA announced Friday.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

Orlando's Ryan Anderson won the award. Milwuakee's Ersan Ilyasova finished second, while Minnesota's Nikola Pekovic was third.

Hayward, 22, averaged 11.8 points, 3.5 rebounds and 3.1 assists during his second season with Utah. He shot 45.6 percent from the field and 34.6 percent behind the 3-point line.

After struggling through an inconsistent January, Hayward excelled during the final two months of a lockout-shortened season. He averaged 16.1 points while shooting 50.7 percent from the floor and 49 percent beyond the arc in 13 April games. Hayward also worked his way back into the starting lineup after being moved to the bench March 5.

Brian T. Smith

Twitter: @tribjazz

Press release:

NEW YORK – Ryan Anderson of the Orlando Magic is the winner of the 2011-12 Kia NBA Most Improved Player Award, the NBA announced today. The annual award is presented to a player who has made a significant improvement from the previous season.

Anderson received 260 of a possible 605 points, including 33 first-place votes, from a panel of 121 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Ersan Ilyasova of the Milwaukee Bucks (159 points, 21 first-place votes) and Nikola Pekovic of the Minnesota Timberwolves (104 points, 10 first-place votes) finished second and third, respectively. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third place vote received.

Anderson established career highs in scoring (16.1 ppg), rebounds (7.7 rpg), field goal percentage (.439) and free throw percentage. He also paced the league and established personal bests in three-pointers made (166) and attempted (422). He increased his scoring from the previous season by 5.5 ppg and his rebounds by 2.2 rpg. Orlando averaged 107.5 points per 100 possessions with Anderson on the court, compared to 94.1 points with the 6-10 forward on the bench.

As part of its support of the Most Improved Player Award, Kia Motors America will donate a new Kia Sorento CUV on behalf of Anderson to the Boys and Girls Club of Central Florida. Kia Motors will present a brand new Sorento to the charity of choice of each of five 2011-12 year-end award winners as part of the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." Following this season, Kia Motors will have donated a total of 21 new vehicles to charitable organizations since its support of the NBA’s prestigious year-end honors began with the 2007-2008 season.

The 2011-12 Kia NBA Most Improved Player Award is part of a series of on-court performance awards called "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." The series, currently in its fifth season, is a significant part of the multiyear marketing partnership between Kia Motors America and the NBA, and also includes the Defensive Player, Sixth Man, Most Valuable Player of the Year Awards, and this year for the first time, Rookie of the Year. It also includes the Kia NBA Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month which are awarded during the regular season. For more information on the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards" visit www.NBA.com/performanceawards.

Attached are the 2011-12 voting results for the Kia NBA Most Improved Player of the Year Award winners. The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP.


1st Place (5 Pts) 2nd Place (3 Pts) 3rd Place (1 pts) Total

Ryan Anderson 33 27 14 260

Ersan Ilyasova 21 15 9 159

Nikola Pekovic 10 15 9 104

Greg Monroe 10 9 19 96

Andrew Bynum 13 8 7 96

Jeremy Lin 10 8 17 91

Goran Dragic 4 8 10 54

Avery Bradley 4 4 4 36

Danny Green 3 3 3 27

Jeff Teague 1 5 7 27

Serge Ibaka 2 2 0 16

Ty Lawson 1 3 2 16

Paul George 2 1 0 13

Steve Novak 1 2 1 12

DeMarcus Cousins 0 2 5 11

Kevin Love 1 0 3 8

Roy Hibbert 0 1 4 7

James Harden 0 2 1 7

Gerald Henderson 1 0 1 6

Marcin Gortat 1 0 1 6

Kyle Lowry 1 0 0 5

Andrew Bogut 1 0 0 5

Marc Gasol 1 0 0 5

Gordon Hayward 0 1 1 4

Arron Afflalo 0 1 0 3

C.J. Watson 0 1 0 3

Brandan Wright 0 1 0 3

Tony Parker 0 1 0 3

Jarrett Jack 0 0 1 1

Marreese Speights 0 0 1 1

Following is the all-time list of winners:


1985-86 Alvin Robertson, San Antonio

1986-87 Dale Ellis, Seattle

1987-88 Kevin Duckworth, Portland

1988-89 Kevin Johnson, Phoenix

1989-90 Rony Seikaly, Miami

1990-91 Scott Skiles, Orlando

1991-92 Pervis Ellison, Washington

1992-93 Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf, Denver

1993-94 Don MacLean, Washington

1994-95 Dana Barros, Philadelphia

1995-96 Gheorghe Muresan, Washington

1996-97 Isaac Austin, Miami

1997-98 Alan Henderson, Atlanta

1998-99 Darrell Armstrong, Orlando

1999-00 Jalen Rose, Indiana

2000-01 Tracy McGrady, Orlando

2001-02 Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana

2002-03 Gilbert Arenas, Golden State

2003-04 Zach Randolph, Portland

2004-05 *Bobby Simmons, L.A. Clippers

2005-06 Boris Diaw, Phoenix

2006-07 Monta Ellis, Golden State

2007-08 Hedo Turkoglu, Orlando

2008-09 Danny Granger, Indiana

2009-10 *Aaron Brooks, Houston

2010-11 Kevin Love, Minnesota

2011-12 Ryan Anderson, Orlando

*NBA Development League Experience

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.

Latest Jazz Photo Galleries
Latest Jazz Photo Galleries
Latest Jazz Photo Galleries
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.