Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
Notes from the newsroom
Lisa Carricaburu
Lisa Carricaburu is managing editor of The Salt Lake Tribune. She encourages reader comments and questions about sltrib.com and The Tribune's print edition in the comments section of this blog, at lisac@sltrib.com or on Twitter: @lcarricaburu.

» Subscribe (RSS)

Comic Con founder so far leads polling for Tribune’s Utahn of the Year

More than 1,000 readers so far have shared their choices for Utahn of the Year using our online poll, which remains active.

We’ve noticed active social media campaigns aimed at getting a few of the 17 individuals or groups on our list more votes, and those efforts show in the results so far.

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

As of Tuesday morning, Dan Farr, who brought the inaugural Comic Con fan convention to Salt Lake City in September, leads the polling, followed closely by the "hero beavers," who are credited with mitigating the environmental effects of a diesel spill at Willard Bay through the dam they built that stopped the spill from reaching the reservoir.

Salt Lake County District Attorney Sim Gill is in third place.

In addition to input from the poll, the column soliciting reader votes had nearly 170 comments as of Tuesday morning. I’ve also received numerous emails.

Readers have suggested some excellent additions to our list. They include:

• The six who filed suit this year against Utah’s Amendment 3 preventing same-sex marriage in the state: Karen Archer, Kate Call, Derek Kitchen, Moudi Sbeity, Laurie Wood and Kody Partridge.

• Kennecott Copper Chief Executive Kelly Sanders, who managed the team that kept workers safe during the largest wall failure in mining history.

• Maryann Martindale and the Alliance for a Better Utah

• Members of the Salt Lake City Council and Mayor Ralph Becker

• Gun rights advocate Clark Aposhian

• Community and low-income housing developer Mark Lundgren

• Nick Moyes, owner of UtahGunExchange.com.

• Gov. Gary Herbert

• Tribune reporters Robert Gehrke and Tom Harvey

• LDS Apostle Boyd K. Packer

Tribune editors ultimately will decide who to name our Utahn of the Year based on our criteria, which calls for us to identify the Utahn who most shaped the news in 2013, leaving an indelible mark on our state.

Meanwhile, keep your votes coming.

We’ll include a summary of reader input when we announce our selection on Christmas Day.

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.