UEA announces teacher awards | The Chalkboard | The Salt Lake Tribune
Get breaking news alerts via email

Click here to manage your alerts
The Chalkboard
Lisa Schencker
Lisa Schencker has covered K-12 education for The Salt Lake Tribune since 2007. Before that, she covered education in California and communities in Northeastern Pennsylvania. As an education reporter, she visits classrooms and talks with teachers, parents, kids and policymakers.

» E-mail

» Subscribe (RSS)

» Older blog posts

UEA announces teacher awards

The Utah Education Association today announced winners of its annual teacher awards. The awards will be formally presented Thursday at 4 p.m. at the South Towne Expo Center as part of the UEA's annual convention.

Winners of the 2010 William and Pat Child "Excellence in Teaching" Awards (which include $1,000):

Join the Discussion
Post a Comment

• Ginger Brakke, sixth-grade teacher at Grant Elementary School, Murray City School District

• Susan Ericksen Bruschke, kindergarten teacher at Heritage Elementary School, Washington County School District

• Kari Cahoon, third-grade teacher at Dilworth Elementary School, Salt Lake City School District

• Leslie DeMille, welding instructor at the Canyons Technical Education Center, Canyons School District

• Steven Drott, science teacher at Woods Cross High School, Davis County School District

• Kodey Hughes, district superintendent and band instructor at Tintic High School, Tintic School District

• Amy Lasater, first-grade teacher at Arrowhead Elementary School, Washington County School District

• Janet Wayman, Career and Technical Education instructor at Riverview Junior High School, Murray City School District

• Michelle Willden, drama teacher at Bingham High School, Jordan School District

• Katherine Wood, U.S. history and government teacher at Millcreek High School, Washington County School District

Other awards include (as quoted from the press release):

• UEA Honor Roll Award to Senator Robert F. Bennett for distinguishing himself as a senior statesman and a friend of public education. This award is presented to a non-educator who has provided outstanding service to public education.

• Charles E. Bennett Human and Civil Rights Award to Scott Berryessa for his efforts to raise funds and assist at-risk students as president of the UEA Children at Risk Foundation for the past eight years. This award is presented to an individual who has engaged in human and civil rights activities that have benefited education and had communitywide impact.

Copyright 2014 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Reader Comments Read All Comments Post a Comment
Click here to read all comments   Click here to post a comment

About Reader Comments

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
  • Search Obituaries
  • Place an Obituary

  • Search Cars
  • Search Homes
  • Search Jobs
  • Search Marketplace
  • Search Legal Notices

  • Other Services
  • Advertise With Us
  • Subscribe to the Newspaper
  • Access your e-Edition
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Contact a newsroom staff member
  • Access the Trib Archives
  • Privacy Policy
  • Missing your paper? Need to place your paper on vacation hold? For this and any other subscription related needs, click here or call 801.204.6100.