Steve Jobs, Diana Ross, Allman Bros. to be honored at Grammy Awards

Published December 21, 2011 11:38 am
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2011, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The Recording Academy (http://www.grammy.com) announced its Special Merit Awards recipients today, and this year's selections are:

Allman Brothers Band

Glen Campbell

Antonio Carlos Jobim

George Jones

the Memphis Horns

Diana Ross (above)

Gil Scott-Heron

They are all Lifetime Achievement Award recipients, and Dave Bartholomew, Steve Jobs and Rudy Van Gelder will be Trustees Award honorees.

The special invitation-only ceremony will be held during GRAMMY Week on Saturday, Feb. 11, 2012, and a formal acknowledgment will be made during the 54th Annual GRAMMY Awards telecast, which will be held at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles on Sunday, Feb. 12, 2012, and broadcast live on CBS. The Lifetime Achievement Award honors performers who have made contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording while the Trustees Award recognizes such contributions in areas other than performance.

Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus