Home » News

Provo mayor turns in 15,000-plus signatures to qualify for GOP primary for Chaffetz's seat

First Published      Last Updated Jun 14 2017 06:24 pm

Special election » State requires 7,000 names to qualify to enter the race and run for Chaffetz’s seat.

Provo Mayor John Curtis on Monday delivered to the state Capitol more than double the necessary signatures to qualify for the Republican primary race for outgoing Rep. Jason Chaffetz's coveted congressional seat.

"That's a pretty big feat," said Utah Elections Director Mark Thomas.

Curtis, who's finishing his eighth year as mayor of the state's third largest city, submitted 15,525 signatures by the noon deadline with the help of volunteers and a paid professional company. Just 7,000 are required to get on the ballot.

And even more impressive: Curtis had just slightly more than two weeks to collect the names with the abbreviated special-election timeline.

"I think this is a great symbol of what we're trying to accomplish," he said, noting that plenty of people told him it couldn't be done.

The elections office will spend the next few days verifying the names. Curtis is the second and last candidate to qualify for the Aug. 15 primary with signatures — pending certification. Tanner Ainge, an investment adviser and son of Boston Celtics General Manager Danny Ainge, submitted nearly 9,000 signatures last week.

Unlike Ainge, Curtis still plans to participate in Saturday's Republican convention. It's expected that one more contender will emerge from that, and the front-runners appear to be state Sens. Deidre Henderson and Margaret Dayton and state Rep. Brad Daw.

That means the primary ballot this year will be unusual with three names from the GOP, rather than the usual two.

Curtis said collecting the signatures, most from Utah County, reaffirmed his decision to join the race.

"It would [seem] to say there are a lot of people who would like to see me on the ballot," he said. "I feel a pretty weighty responsibility not to let them down."

Other candidates found the alternative route to the ballot too daunting. Republicans Shayne Row and Brigham Cottam and Democrats Ben Frank and Carl Ingwell indicated an intent to gather signatures when they filed for office, but none of the four were able to reach the 7,000 requirement. They'll instead try their luck at the convention (though Cottam has decided to run as a write-in candidate).

Thomas, the state elections director, said many filed to both gather signatures and campaign at the convention "just to keep their options open." But time, money and energy can make collecting names difficult — especially during a special election.

"In this case, the schedule was pretty limiting," Thomas said.

Ingwell said he was "overly optimistic" about the signature route when he first submitted his papers. A few days later, he realized "getting those just seemed really unrealistic." With a grass-roots campaign, he found himself short on funds.

Michael Allegrini, manager for Frank's campaign, said his team started collecting names but couldn't get enough before the due date.

"We figured we would try, even though it was an almost insurmountable feat," he said.

Since the filing deadline, three candidates have also dropped out of the race: Republicans Jeremy Friedbaum and Mike Leavitt (who is not the former governor of Utah by the same name) and Democrat Faeiza Javed.

With the addition Monday of one unaffiliated candidate, Sean Whalen, and one write-in, Russell Roesler, that leaves 21 competing for Chaffetz's seat, which the congressman will vacate June 30.

» Next page... Single page



3rd Congressional District candidates


» Tanner Ainge

» Debbie Aldrich

» John Curtis

» Brad Daw

» Margaret Dayton

» Paul Fife

» Deidre Henderson

» Chris Herrod

» Damian Kidd

» Keith Kuder

» Stewart Peay

» Shayne Row


» Kathie Allen

» Ben Frank

» Carl Ingwell


» Joe Buchman

Independent American Party:

» Jason Christensen

» Aaron Heineman


» Sean Whalen


» Brigham Cottam

» Russell Roesler