Bars, restaurants cited for liquor law violations
Twenty Utah bars and restaurants paid nearly $22,000 in fines in recent months for selling alcohol to minors and other liquor law violations.
Sunset West Bowling Center in St. George paid $5,000 and had its liquor license suspended for 25 days after receiving three citations: for selling alcohol to minors, having minors on the premises and failing to use a scanning device on driver licenses, said a monthly report from the Utah Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC).
Broadway Bar and Grill in Tooele was issued three similar sale-to-minor citations and paid $3,000 in fines, the report showed.
The DABC considers sales to minors a serious violation that can result in a $500-$3,000 fine and/or a 5 to 30-day license suspension. Second offenses receive higher fines/punishments.
One Nightclub in Salt Lake City paid $3,750 in fines for "allowing lewd acts," "failure to use a scanning device" and "employees consuming alcohol on duty," the report said. The nightclub's license also was suspended for 10 days for having an unapproved stage.
Others receiving fines/suspensions for sales to minors:
Moondog's Cafe, Layton • $1,500 fine, plus 20-day license suspension.
Bistro 258, Ogden • $1,000 fine.
Bout Time Pub & Grub, Park City • $750 fine for consumption away from the table and minors at the bar structure.
Callaway's, Smithfield • $1,000 fine.
Club Rio, Moab • $750 fine for sale after hours and a customer having more than two alcoholic beverages at a time.
El Paisa Grill Freshmex, West Valley City • $1,000 fine.
Happy Sumo, Provo • $1,000 fine.
Javier's Chaparritos, Harrisville • 5-day suspension
Jim's Family Restaurant, Riverton • 5-day suspension
Joe's Crab Shack, Sandy • $1,000 fine.
Kabuki Japanese Steakhouse, Logan • 5-day suspension
La Fuente, Salt Lake City • $1,000 fine.
Lucky Slice Pizza, Ogden • $1,000 fine.
Maggie McGee's, Salt Lake City • 15-day license suspension for sale to minors, minors on premises and failure to use a scanning device.
Mexican Hat Lodge, Mexican Hat • $1,575 fine for sale to a minor, employees consuming on duty and untrained server.