Home » News

Group names Utah principals of the year

Published January 8, 2014 1:18 pm

This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Three principals — from the Jordan, Alpine and Canyons districts — have been named Utah's principals of the year.

Herriman High's James O. Birch, Joseph Jensen of Orem Junior High, and Union Middle Assistant Principal Douglas C. Hallenbeck will represent the state in the MetLife Principal of the Year competition. The Utah Association of Secondary School Principals named the three as winners.

Birch is the first principal of Herriman High, which opened in 2010, and created the Herriman Institute for Teachers to help mentor new educators.

Jensen has led Orem Junior High since 2009 and has worked to create professional learning communities of teachers and make sure data is used to drive instruction.

And Hallenbeck, as principal of Sandy's Union Middle School, has expanded the use of technology in classrooms.

Lisa Schencker