Home » News

Still time to vote for Utahn of the Year

Published December 16, 2013 9:24 am

This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

There's still time to weigh in on who you think The Salt Lake Tribune should select as its Utahn of the Year.

Simply visit the online poll and select from a list of 17 individuals or groups we've identified, or you may write in your own nominee.

The criteria and process Tribune editors will use to choose the news organization's 17th annual Utahn of the Year are detailed in this column.

We'll announce our selection on Christmas Day.

So far, nearly 2,000 of you have voiced your opinion.

Active social media campaigns encouraged votes for both Dan Farr, who brought the inaugural Comic Con fan convention to Salt Lake City in September, and the "hero" beavers, whose dam helped mitigate the environmental impact of a diesel spill at Willard Bay.

Farr and the beavers currently lead the online poll, likely as a result of those campaigns, followed by Salt Lake County District Attorney Sim Gill and University of Utah economist/demographer Pam Perlich.

Additional write-ins include KRCL disc jockey Rev. Bad Brad Wheeler; Sen. Jim Dabakis, D-Salt Lake City; and former Utah Gov. Jon Huntsman.