Concessionaires at four Utah golf courses paid more than $4,000 in fines last month after liquor compliance officers caught them serving alcohol to minors.
Sale-to-minor violations occurred at Rose Park and Wingpointe golf courses in Salt Lake City, Mountain View Golf Course in West Jordan and River Oaks Golf Course in Sandy, according to documents from the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control. Each concessionaire paid $1,127 in fines and fees for the violations.
The food service company at a fifth course, Schneiter’s Riverside in Ogden, had its license suspended for five days and was fined $150 when a minor was caught selling an alcoholic beverage, according to the DABC report.
Alcohol sales to minors — or by minors — is considered a serious violation and can result in a 5- to 30-day license suspension or a $500 to $3,000 fine, or both.
The golf courses were among 25 businesses cited in September for violating state liquor laws. While the majority of violations involved sale to minors, a few establishments were cited for free-pouring alcohol as well as discounting or giving away drinks.