Home » News

Salt Lake City Council candidate filings start adding up

Published June 5, 2013 4:33 pm

This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The candidate filing deadline for the Salt Lake City Council is 5 p.m. Friday with seats from Districts 1, 3, 5 and 7 up for election.

District 1 (Rose Park, Fairpark, Westpointe) • Incumbent Carlton Christensen is not seeking re-election. As of Wednesday afternoon, four candidates had filed for that seat. They include J. Dee Carlson, Isaac D. Arnold, Kevin S. Parke and Brad Bartholomew.

District 3 (Avenues, Capitol Hill, Federal Heights) • Stan Penfold now holds the seat for Council District 3. By Wednesday afternoon, Sherman W. Clow was the only person to have filed as a candidate for that seat.

District 5 (Central City, Liberty Park, Yalecrest) • Council District 5 seat is held by Jill Remington Love. Erin Mendenhall and Bill Davis had both filed for election by late Wednesday.

District 7 (Sugar House) • Soren Simonsen now holds the District 7 seat. Amy Barry and Topher Horman had filed as candidates by Wednesday.

Candidates can file at the city recorder's office in Room 415 of City Hall, 451 S. State St. For more information, go to http://www.slcgov.com.

The Salt Lake Tribune