Quantcast
Home » News
Home » News

Overton DQ'd at Colonial for using putting aid

Published May 25, 2013 1:18 pm

This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Fort Worth, Texas • Jeff Overton was disqualified midway through the third round of the Colonial on Saturday for illegally using a putting aid during play.

PGA Tour officials say Overton used an aid on a nearby practice green after playing the ninth hole while waiting to tee off at No. 10.

Going to the practice area is permissible during a round, but use of artificial or instructional devices isn't. The penalty is disqualification.

Rules official Mark Russell says it's unfortunate but that the rule is "clear as day."

Overton was 4 under for the tournament, seven strokes off the lead, when a PGA Tour official approached Overton after he teed off at the 11th hole. Russell says another player had asked officials about the use of the device.