Temple Square’s Concerts in the Park and Concert Series commence in June
Published: May 16, 2013 12:51PM
Updated: May 16, 2013 12:54PM

June heralds the return of Temple Square’s popular “Concerts in the Park” summer season at the Brigham Young Historic Park.

In addition, five Concert Series performances will be held in the Assembly Hall.

Concerts in the Brigham Young Historic Park begin at 8 p.m. in June and are open to all ages.

Concerts in the Assembly Hall begin at 7:30 p.m. and are open to ages eight and older.

All concerts are free.

Concert Series Performances

Saturday, June 1—Concert pianist Josh Wright

Saturday, June 8—Lyric soprano Michelle Zentner

Saturday, June 15—The Orem Chorale, under the direction of Sterling Keyes

Saturday, June 22—BYU-Idaho Collegiate Singers

Saturday, June 29—The Pioneer Valley Chamber Ensemble, with co-directors Pamela Dale and Betta Nash

In addition, 30-minute organ recitals are held in the Salt Lake Tabernacle weekdays and Saturdays at noon and at 2 p.m. in the Conference Center, and on Sundays at 2 p.m. in the Tabernacle.

Also, Mormon Tabernacle Choir rehearsals are open to the public in the Conference Center on Thursday evenings at 8 p.m. The “Music and the Spoken Word” broadcast takes place on Sundays in the Conference Center, with doors opening at 8 a.m. and the 30-minute broadcast starting at 9:30 a.m. Please note that the Mormon Tabernacle Choir will be on a Midwest tour from June 12 through June 21.

“Concerts in the Park” at Brigham Young Historic Park (2601 E. Sunny Side Ave., Salt Lake City; located on the southeast corner of State Street and Second Avenue / North Temple Street)

A limited number of chairs will be available at the park. Attendees are welcome to bring their own chairs or blankets to sit on. In the event of inclement weather, every effort will be made to move a concert indoors to the Assembly Hall on Temple Square. Call 801-240-3323 for concert updates or for information.

Tuesday, June 4 Pizzicato Strings & Company

Friday, June 7 Broadway Crescendo

Tuesday, June 11 Octappella

Friday, June 14 Utah National Guard 23rd Army Band

Tuesday, June 18 One Clear Voice

Friday, June 21 Lorisa Pulotu

Tuesday, June 25 Sam Payne and Savoy

Friday, June 28 Nancy Hanson